Sri Lanka Claim T20I Series Advantage

Sri Lanka women bounced back from their 2-1 One-Day International series loss to the Momentum Proteas by beating the visitors by a slim, seven runs, in the opening match of their three-match Twenty20 (T20) series at Colts Cricket Club in Colombo on Thursday.

(Click to read the scorecard)

(Click to read the ODI Series ending match report on gsport)

The hosts posted 101/7 in a match that was reduced to 13 overs a side because of rain, after having won the toss and electing to bat first.

Shashikala Siriwardene and her captain, Chamari Jayangani scored 28 and 20 respectively, while Marizanne Kapp took two wickets for 16 in her reduced three overs.

In reply, Lizelle Lee and Dané van Niekerk steered South Africa to recovery after losing Trisha Chetty for eight in the second over.

They put on a 42-run, second-wicket stand in 5.3 overs before losing the latter for 15.

The visitors got into real trouble after losing Lee for 41 at the start of the 11th over, and only captain, Mignon du Preez, was able to add substantial runs before she was run out by Yasoda Mendis, also in the 11th over.

The rest of the line-up could not manage more than Shabnim Ismail’s unbeaten four off three balls as they scurried for runs, but to no avail, managing 94/6 before running out of overs.

South Africa get their chance to equalize the series tomorrow when they play the second T20 at the same ground at 09:50 (local time) and 06:20 (SA time).


Twenty20 International (T20I) Series between Sri Lanka and South Africa:
23 Oct: Sri Lanka beat South Africa by 7 runs
25 Oct: Sri Lanka vs South Africa (Colts Cricket Club Ground, Colombo)
26 Oct: Sri Lanka vs South Africa (Mercantile Cricket Association Ground, Colombo)
One-Day International (ODI) Series between Sri Lanka and South Africa:
15 Oct: South Africa beat Sri Lanka by 53 runs
17/18 Oct: No result (match abandoned for inclement weather)
19 Oct: Sri Lanka beat South Africa by 4 wickets
21 Oct: South Africa beat Sri Lanka by 5 wickets
Momentum Proteas Squad for the SA Women’s Tour of Sri Lanka, 2014/15:
Mignon du Preez
Bernadine Bezuidenhout
Trisha Chetty
Moseline Daniels
Yolani Fourie
Shabnim Ismail
Marizanne Kapp
Ayabonga Khaka
Lizelle Lee
Marcia Letsoalo
Nadine Moodley
Andrie Steyn
Chloe Tryon
Dane van Niekerk
Sri Lanka Squad:
Chamari Atapattu
Nilakshi de Silva
Ama Kanchana
Eshani Lokusuriyage
Chamari Polgampola
Sanduni Abeywickrema
Yasoda Mendis
Imalka Mendis
Hasini Perera
Udeshika Prabodhani
Inoka Ranaweera
Maduri Samuddika
Anushka Sanjeewani
Shashikala Siriwardene
Prasadani Weerakkody
Sripali Weerakkody

Photo 1 caption: Momentum Proteas skipper Mignon du Preez (pictured) and Lizelle Lee were South Africa’s biggest hopes away to Sri Lanka in Colombo, but the home side’s rain-reduced innings of 101/7 was good enough for the opening win of the three T20I match series in Colombo, on Thursday, 23 October, 2014. Photo: Cricket SA on Facebook


(With editing by gsport)

Please Rate this Post

0 ratings, 0 votes0 ratings, 0 votes (0 rating, 0 votes, rated)
You need to be a registered member to rate this.

About the Author:

gsport Newsroom

gsport Newsroom

Launched in 2006, gsport exists to enhance the commercial prospects of our women athletes, and other women in sport, by telling the inspiring story of SA women in sport. Thank you for your contribution!

Recent Posts


Follow Us