Stars Headline SA Sport Awards Nominees List

Momentum gsport Awards stars headline a stellar list of nominees for the 16th Annual SA Sport Awards, which were announced on Wednesday, 15 March 2023.

The awards look to honour South African sporting excellence, after what has been an outstanding year for team green and gold across the globe.

Leading the Sportswoman of the Year category is #gsport17 triple winner and Commonwealth Games double gold medallist, Lara van Niekerk.

Joining her for the recognition is Commonwealth Games Judo champion and #gsport17 Minister’s Recognition of Excellence recipient, Michaela Whitebooi. Concluding the category is 2021 Momentum gsport Awards Athlete of the Year and international renowned pace bowler, Shabnim Ismail.

In other notable categories, British Open Champion and 3-time SA Champion Ashleigh Buhai is up against Women’s Africa Cup of Nations winner, Andile Dlamini and male swimming champion, Matthew Sates.

Battling it out in the media category, eNCA Sport Reporter Hloni Mtimkulu features alongside SuperSport’s Thato Moeng and Sports Editor, Mathews Mpete.

Scroll down to find out more!


SA Sport Awards Nominees:


Sportswoman of the Year: 

Lara van Niekerk – Commonwealth Games Swimming Champion
Michaela Whitebooi – Commonwealth Games Judo Champion
Shabnim Ismail – Proteas Women Fast Bowler


Sportswoman of the Year with Disability:

Kat Swanepoel – Paralympic Swimmer
Cornelle Leach – Paralympic Swimmer
Minke Janse van Rensburg – World Record Swimming Champion


Photographer of the Year:

Samkelo Gambushe
Ronnie Tippett
Steve Haag


Sport Star of the Year:

Ashleigh Buhai – British Open Champion and 3-time SA Champion
Andile Dlamini – WAFCON Champion Banyana Banyana Goalkeeper
Matthew Sates – World South African Swimming Champion


National Federation of the Year:

Cricket South Africa


Team of the Year: 

Banyana Banyana
SA Rugby
Proteas Women ODI


People’s Choice Award:

Refiloe Jane – Banyana Banyana Midfielder
Ayabonga Khaka – Proteas Women Cricketer
Tatjana Schoenmaker – Olympic SA Swimmer
Themba Zwane – Bafana Bafana Midfielder
Kagiso Rabada – Proteas Men Cricketer


Coach of the Year: 

Hilton Moreeng – SA Women’s Cricket
Rocco Meiring – SA Swimming Coach
Neil Powell – SA Men’s Rugby 7s


Journalist of the Year:  

Hloni Mtimkulu
Thato Moeng
Mathews Mpete


Sport Administrator of the Year

Cornelia Swanepoel – SASAPD
Portia Dimu – Netball South Africa
Sibongile Fondini – Basketball South Africa



Please Rate this Post

0 ratings, 0 votes0 ratings, 0 votes (0 rating, 0 votes, rated)
You need to be a registered member to rate this.

About the Author:

gsport Newsroom

gsport Newsroom

Launched in 2006, gsport exists to enhance the commercial prospects of our women athletes, and other women in sport, by telling the inspiring story of SA women in sport. Thank you for your contribution!

Recent Posts


Follow Us