Three Women Footballers Up for FIFA Puskás Award

FIFA recently announced the nominees for the Puskás Award, amongst the 11 nominees are 3 women. This is awarded to a male or female player who was judged to have scored the most aesthetically significant goal of the calendar year.

The public vote will narrow the 11 nominees down to the final 3 and FIFA’s panel of experts will announce the winner on the 27th of February 2023. The three women who are nominated for this award are Amandine Henry, Salma Paralluelo and Alessia Russo.

Amandine Henry, a French footballer who plays for the French National Team and for the French football club, Lyon scored a goal against Barcelona which granted her the opportunity to be nominated for the Puskás award. Henry scored this goal within six minutes of kickoff that ensured a 3-1 win over Barcelona.

Henry is no stranger to winning big awards. In 2015, she received the Silver Ball award for being the tournament’s 2nd Best Player at the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup and was also named as one of the best players in Europe in 2015, this led her to a 2nd place win for the Best Women Player in Europe.

At a young age of 19, Spanish footballer, Salma Paralluelo, who played for Villareal scored the winning goal against Barcelona, not only did this goal make her a nominee for this award, but also got her a signed contract with Barcelona two months later.

Paralluelo represented Spain in 2018,  she won the UEFA Women’s Under-17 Championship, 2018 FIFA Women’s Under-17 Women’s World Cup and the 2022 FIFA Under-20 Women’s World Cup. She is definitely going to make history for herself an women’s sport in the years to come.

England’s lioness, Alessia Russo, scored her goal in the semi-finals of the 2022 UEFA Women’s Euro’s which allowed her team to advance to the finals after securing a 4-0 win over Sweden. This outstanding goal was awarded the goal of the tournament by UEFA and is now nominated for the Puskás award.

Russo competed at the 2016 Under-17 FIFA Women’s World Cup and 2018 Under-20 FIFA Women’s World Cup. In a recent interview Russo was asked what her thoughts were on being nominated for this award and responded, saying: “Having three women up for the award is huge. To have one of us win it would be amazing and would show how much further the game has come.”

These three women are up against Kylian Mbappe and Richarlison but for the 3rd time since 2019,  we have 3 women that are nominated for this award, however, a male footballer has always won. Not only has it been a massive change in the football industry to have both male and female footballers nominated for the same award’s category, but yet it proves that our women footballers are equally as talented and deserve the recognition.

By gsport Intern, Jessica De Lira

Please Rate this Post

0 ratings, 0 votes0 ratings, 0 votes (0 rating, 0 votes, rated)
You need to be a registered member to rate this.

About the Author:

gsport Contributor

gsport Contributor

This account is used to publish material provided to gsport by various third parties. While gsport ensures best endeavours to ensure that contributors have standing and that their contributions are relevant and legitimate, gsport's standard limitations in respect of third-party content apply.

Recent Posts


Follow Us