Underdogs Delight as Ekurhuleni and Mpumalanga Scoop Golf IPT Titles

by | Oct 7, 2018

The underdogs won the day in a dramatic finale at Devonvale Golf and Wine Estate as Ekurhuleni and Mpumalanga both celebrated double firsts in the 58th SA Women’s Inter-Provincial Championship on Friday.

Ekurhuleni defeated defending champions Western Province 6.5 – 2.5 in a pressure-packed final round to lift the A-Section title for the first time and Mpumalanga held Border to a draw to win the B-Section and the coveted promotion that comes with the trophy.

Ekurhuleni and Western Province began the last day tied on 4 points after two wins each.

Caitlyn Macnab issued a simple instruction as she led her charges into battle against the crowd favourites. “I told them to win everything,” said the 16-year-old Serengeti junior.

“We were 1 games point behind Western Province, so I told them to go out hard and fast and win everything because one point could make the difference at the end of the day.”

The team responded with a resounding 3 – 0 lead in the foursomes.

Reigning Sanlam SA Women’s Stroke Play champion Casandra Hall partnered Macnab to a 7 & 5 victory, Nadia van der Westhuizen and Kiera Floyd won 4 & 3 and Kyra van Kan and Teagan Lubbe ensured a clean sweep with a 1-up victory.

“We only needed to win three games and we knew we could do it.” – Ekurhuleni captain Caitlyn Macnab

“There was a huge sense of anticipation after the foursomes,” said Macnab. “Everyone was committed to get the job done.”

Hall beat Province number one Vicki Traut 7 & 5 to bank their first point.

Van der Westhuizen knocked out Katia Shaff 5 & 3 to take their tally to 5 points, but Western Province banker Zayb Fredericks downed Lubbe 2-up to give her team a fighting chance.

Williams defeated Macnab 3 & 1 and seasoned campaigner Kelly Erasmus halved against Van Kan to take Western Province’s tally to 3 points, but it was too little, too late.

Jordan Rothman took Floyd to the final hole, but the 14-year-old sealed the deal when she holed her par putt to win 1-up.

“This is a team competition and this was a team victory.” – Caitlyn Macnab

“This has been one big team effort,” said Macnab. “There is no ‘I’ in team. We bat for each other, and we play for Ekurhuleni. I want to applaud all our players, especially our rookies Kyra and Nadia, for their fighting spirit and their never-say-die attitude.

“Our president Susan Andrew and our manager Lizette Vermaak have been incredible in their support and we are extremely proud that we could repay their belief in us with this achievement.

“We would also like to congratulate Devonvale on giving us a pristine golf course for this year’s championship. Our gratitude also goes out the green staff, the waiters and waitresses and all the staff that serviced the player accommodation.

“And finally, a big thank you to Womens Golf South Africa and all the executives for all the long hours this week. We had a fantastic championship.”

Mpumalanga Holds Border to Draw to Scoop Maiden B-Section Win

Meanwhile Mpumalanga already had cause for celebration after finishing in the top draw after the 36-hole Seeding Round.

“Our goal this year was to make the top draw for the first time,” said captain Patrizia Lombard. “Once we made the top four teams in the seeding round, we moved the goal posts. If we were good enough to win and get into the top draw, we could win the whole thing.”

Mpumalanga surrendered just a half point to Western Province B in the first round and defeated Free State in round two to top of the B-Section Division 1 log ahead of Border.

“We had a 2 point lead over Border, but they are a tough side with a lot of experience, so we took nothing for granted,” said Lombard. “We split the difference in the foursomes, and Chante Boonstra and Petrone Rudolph pulled it through for us in the singles to force a 3-all draw.

“We are absolutely over the moon!” – Mpumalanga captain Patrizia Lombard

“We worked very hard leading up to the SA Women’s IPT and now we have an even bigger goal. Next year we want to prove to everyone that we belong in the A-Section,” said Lombard.

“We recently got a new coach and we have earmarked some youngsters to work with for our six-man team next year. This has been an unbelievable week for us, playing a fantastic course against top opposition and we are incredibly proud to be leaving Boland as the 2018 champions.”

In the other A-Section Division 1 match, Gauteng defeated Southern Cape 5 – 4 to take third in log.

Last year’s B-Section winners KwaZulu-Natal won the Division 2 with a win against Boland and a final round draw against Gauteng North. Boland also defeated the Daisies, which left Gauteng North holding the wooden spoon.

Western Province B beat Free State 4 – 2 to finish third in the B-Section Division 1 log, while North West came up trumps in the Division 2 battle. The team defeated Eastern Province 5 – 1 in the final round to edge out Northern Cape for the top spot with 1.5 games points.


A-Section Division 1:
Western Province A 2.5 vs Ekurhuleni 6.5
Gauteng 5 vs Southern Cape 4
A-Section Division 1 Log:
(Pos-Union-Played-Won-Drawn-Lost-Points-Matches won)
1. Ekurhuleni (3, 3, 0, 0, 6, 20.5)
2. Western Province A (3, 2, 0, 1, 4, 17.5)
3. Gauteng (3, 1, 0, 2, 2, 8.5)
4. Southern Cape (3, 0, 0, 3, 0, 7.5)

A-Section Division 2:
Gauteng North 4.5 vs KwaZulu-Natal 4.5
A-Section Division 2 Log:
(Pos-Union-Played-Won-Drawn-Lost-Points-Matches won)
1. KwaZulu-Natal (2, 1, 1, 0, 3, 10.5)
2. Boland (2, 1, 0, 1, 2, 9.5)
3. Gauteng North (2, 0, 1, 1, 1, 7)

B-Section Division 1:
Mpumalanga 3 vs Border 3
Free State 2 vs Western Province B 4
B-Section Division 1 Log:
(Pos-Union-Played-Won-Drawn-Lost-Points-Matches won)
1. Mpumalanga (3, 2, 1, 0, 5, 12)
2. Western Province B (3, 2, 0, 1, 4, 8)
3. Border (3, 1, 1, 1, 3, 10.5)
4. Free State (3, 0, 0, 3, 0, 5.5)

B-Section Division 2:
Eastern Province 1 vs North West 5
Northern Cape 3 vs Limpopo 3
B-Section Division 2 Log:
(Pos-Union-Played-Won-Drawn-Lost-Points-Matches won)
1. North West (3, 2, 0, 1, 4, 11)
2. Northern Cape (3, 1, 2, 0, 4, 9.5)
3. Eastern Province (3, 1, 1, 1, 3, 8)
4. Limpopo (3, 0, 1, 2, 1, 7.5)


Photo 1 Caption: Ekurhuleni team captain Caitlyn Macnab is pictured holding the trophy as maiden SA Women’s Inter-Provincial Champions Ekurhuleni (from left) Nadia van der Westhuizen, Kiera Floyd, Teagan Lubbe, Ekurhuleni Women’s Golf president Susan Andrew, Casandra Hall, Kyra van Kan and manager Lizette Vermaak celebrate a remarkable first. Photo: GolfRSA

Photo 2 Caption: 58th SA Women’s Inter-Provincial Championship A-Section champions Ekurhuleni; credit GolfRSA FLTR: Casandra Hall, Kyra van Kan, captain Caitlyn Macnab, Teagan Lubbe, Kiera Floyd, Nadia van der Westhuizen and Womens Golf South Africa Vice-President Sarah Braude. Photo: GolfRSA

Photo 3 Caption: Celebrating Mpumalanga’s maiden B-Section win are (from left) Petrone Rudolph, Nicole Schoeman, Womens Golf Mpumalanga president Hanlie Uys, Patrizia Lombard (captain), Chante Boonstra and manager Alida Schoeman. Photo: GolfRSA

Photo 4 Caption: Pictured (from left) are 58th SA Women’s Inter-Provincial Championship B-Section champions Mpumalanga, represented by Petrone Rudolph, Chante Boonstra, Patrizia Lombard (captain), Nicole Schoeman and Womens Golf South Africa Vice-President Sarah Braude. Photo: GolfRSA


With editing by gsport


Share this article:

About the Author:

<a href="https://gsport.co.za/members/lali_stander/" target="_self">Lali Stander</a>

Lali Stander

Independent sports journalist, broadcaster and sports media center specialist with a passion for the development of golf in South Africa. Clients include GolfRSA, Sunshine Ladies Tour, South African Golf Association, SA Disabled Golf Association, IGT Challenge Tour and Womens Golf South Africa


Submit a Comment

Recent Posts

Recent Comments


Related Posts