Ward Claims Second Drak Challenge Title

by | Feb 2, 2020

Jenna Ward paddled victory in the 2020 N3TC Drak Challenge in partnership with FNB on Sunday, 2 February 2020 in the Underberg classic, to earn her second title.

“It is a real thrill to win this race again, particularly because it was held over the full Drak course. The last time I won it it was held over the Short Course, and it feels good to claim that you won a Drak when it was raced from the top start,” she said.

Ward was impressive in not making any mistakes in the myriad of rapids littered with rocks, made technically difficult by the low river conditions.

“It feels unreal to have had two flawless days!” she said.

Dusi champ Christie Mackenzie mirrored Hank McGregor’s race and paced herself well to wrap up her best Drak result.

Behind her however the race’s most notable performance came from Bridgitte Hartley. After a nightmarish first stage that left her a distant sixth, she decided to stage a herculean solo charge, arguably fuelled by her frustration from the first stage.

Leaving everything out on the water she posted the fastest time in the women’s race on the final stage by five minutes to blitz onto the podium and claim third from Tamika Haw.

The event was well supported by a huge field of paddlers who enjoyed the weekend filled with activities under the umbrella of the FNB Drak Adventure Weekend.

Summary of Results
N3TC Drak Challenge Day One:
1.Jenna Ward 5:10:06
2.Christie Mackenzie 5:12:32
3.Bridgitte Hartley 5:13:10
4.Tamika Haw 5:20:55
5.Hilary Bruss 5:26:39

More information can be found at www.drakadventure.co.za



Photo 1 Caption: The low Mzimkhulu Rover made conditions challenging for the big field that entered the N3TC Drak Challenge in partnership with FNB. Photo: Anthony Grote/Gameplan Media


With editing by gsport

Share this article:

About the Author:


Submit a Comment

Recent Posts

Recent Comments


Related Posts

SA Rugby Referees Punt Women’s Empowerment
SA Rugby Referees Punt Women’s Empowerment

Aimee Barrett-Theron remains the sole woman on SA Rugby’s National Panel of Referees, Ashleigh Murray-Pretorius retains her position on the Sevens Referees squad while the addition of Akhona Mncolomba, Zoe Naude, Yohane Halgryn and Tshepi Moropa bring the Women’s Panel to eleven match officials.