Wits cause an Upset against Maties

Wits may have caused the upset of the tournament when Nomnikelo Veto scored the final penalty to hand Wits a 2(3)-2(2) win against Maties at the NWU Astro.

Wits made sure to put the pressure on Maties early on in the game to ensure there was no way through. Even after fifteen minutes of back and forth, the score was locked going into the second quarter. Ashleigh Datnow kept testing the Maties defence while Wits captain Lezaan Jansen van Vuuren stood strong to hold off a determined Maties to keep the score at 0-0 going into half time.

Wits took the lead in the beginning of the second half through Nompilo Thenjwayo and Maties replied immediately when Rebecca Kaps equalised, taking the score to 2-2 with the last quarter left to play.

The final quarter resulted in a deadlock which sent the game to penalties. Maties were first up and Aimee-Leigh made no mistake converting it. Lisa Bone went next for Wits and found the back of the net, to lock the scores yet again. Stephanie Botha put Maties back in the lead, but Ashleigh Dykman drew Wits level. Sisipho Magwaza made three vital saves for Wits, but Nomnikelo Veto sealed the deal for Wits, handing Maties their second loss of the weekend.


Mugg & Bean Star Saver Award: Simone van der Colff (Maties)
MTN Connector Award: Michelle Dykman (Wits)
FNB Player of the Match: Stephanie Botha (Maties)


Maties: 2
 Rebecca Kaps
Wits: 2
: Nompilo Thenjwayo

Aimee-Leigh Pote, Stephanie Botha
Wits: Lisa Bone, Micelle Dykman, Nomnikelo Veto


1. Tabata Sandisiwe, 2. Jamie Southgate, 3. Kristen Block, 4. Stephanie Botha, 5. Lee-Ann Louwrens, 6. Tammy Minnaar, 7. Lida Kotze, 8. Paige Phillips, 9. Aimee-Leigh Pote, 10. Lenta Cullinan, 11. Monique Bartsch, 12. Zola Nompuku, 13. Simone van der Colff, 14. Rebecca Kaps, 18. Ammaarah Hendricks, 20. Francisca Darkoh, 23. Angela Welman, 24. Lara Stevens.

Wits: 1. Tamsin Copeland, 2. Michelle Dykman, 3. Nolwazi Ngubane, 4. Imogen Bangert, 5 Lezaan Janse van Vuuren, 6. Angelique Pieterse, 7. Nomnikelo Veto, 8. Ashleigh Readhead, 9. Mandisa Sigulda, 10. Nompilo Thenjwayo, 11. Ashleigh Datnow, 12. Danielle Quinn, 13. Nolwazi Zondi, 15. Grace Taylor, 16. Lisa Bone, 17. Storme Johnson, 18. Jureya Dildar, 24. Sisipho Magwaza.


With editing by gsport


Please Rate this Post

0 ratings, 0 votes0 ratings, 0 votes (0 rating, 0 votes, rated)
You need to be a registered member to rate this.

Recent Posts


Follow Us