Annual Cricket Awards Near

Captain of the women’s national cricket squad Cri-Zelda Brits is up against team-mates Ashlyn Kilowan and her vice-captain Johmari Logtenberg in the running for the Women’s Cricketer of the Year award, at Wednesday’s fourth annual Mutual & Federal SA Cricket Awards.

The three nominees up for the Women’s Cricketer of the Year award at Wednesday’s Mutual & Federal SA Cricket Awards, (from left) Johmari Logtenberg, Cri-Zelda Brits and Ashlyn Kilowan. Picture: gsport … for Girls!

“I am satisfied with their selection,” convenor of Selectors of South African Women’s Cricket told gsport on Monday. “But I would really like to see someone from Women’s Cricket in that (nomination) committee.”
Brits tops the domestic batting averages log with 512 runs at a strike rate of 90,79 during a season in which she scored two centuries, and three half-centuries.

“Cri-Zelda is a very good all-rounder,” Smith told gsport, “She’s doing well, and her captaincy is excellent.”

Western Province’s bowling talisman Ashlyn Kilowan send down 111 overs in the domestic season, picking up 29 wickets at a miserly average of 9.75.

Kilowan also played a critical role in the ODI home series against Pakistan, capturing 10 wickets in 5 matches with a killer average of 10.6, conceding an mere average of 2.4 runs in 44 overs.

“Ashlyn is a very good bowler,” continued Smith, “She deserves to be there.”

Johmari Logtenberg returns as winner of the 2005/2006 award, and her repeat nomination follows a season in which she didn’t feature in the domestic batting averages log, because she wasn’t dismissed often enough!

Logtenberg lead SA’s batting against Pakistan, and was the only batswoman in the series to score a century for an average of 94.0 in four matches.

“Johmari’s a bit down with her cricket,” added Smith, “But she’s like Graeme Smith, when she’s playing good cricket.”

In addition to the ladies performing on the field, three more ladies enter consideration at the annual Awards as chairs of their respective Scorer’s Associations, including Gauteng’s Odette Allen, Griqualand West’s Christa Gordon, and North West’s Danika Venter.

In a mixed category, two ladies are nominees in the Bakers Administrator of the Year Award category, where the judges will consider Eastern Province’s Belinda Alie, Griquas’ Helene van der Riet and Boland’s Hennie van Uys.

Share this article:


Submit a Comment