Bregman Snaps Up Round 1

by | Feb 22, 2007

Stacy Bregman made a promising start in her first tournament as a professional in South Africa when she claimed a two-stroke lead in the first round of the Pam Golding Ladies International at Dainfern Country Club on Wednesday.

Bregman, who turned professional after winning the World Amateur Team Championship with Ashleigh Simon and Kelli Shean and immediately qualified for the Ladies European Tour, opened with a seven under par 66 on the par-73 layout.

The young star carded seven birdies, an eagle and two bogeys to head the field over England’s Kiran Matharu, who posted a 68.

Rebecca Hudson and another South African rookie professional in Lee-Anne Pace were next best with rounds of four under 69.

Defending champion Nora Angehrn opened with a one under 72, while amateur sensation Ashleigh Simon signed for a level par 73.

As impressive as Bregman’s round was, it could by her own admission have been even better.

She lipped out for birdie at the first two holes, then lipped out for eagle at the third but secured her birdie.

Bregman went on to make birdie from two feet at the fourth, lip out for birdie at the seventh, hole a six-footer for birdie at the eighth and then hole a 65-foot putt for eagle at the ninth.

She opened her back nine with four birdies in five holes from the 10th, then dropped her first shot with a three-putt on the 15th and her second when she failed to get up and down for par on the 17th.

“I played really well and everything was going exactly where I wanted it to,” said Bregman, who returned home from the Ladies European Tour confident of claiming a maiden victory on the Ladies African Tour.

“I have really been looking forward to these tournaments because I feel I can win at least one of them. I’ve been working very hard on my game and I gained a lot of experience playing in Australia.”

Bregman has been working on her short game with close friend Neil Schietekat, who is also in his rookie season as a professional on the men’s Sunshine Tour.

Schietekat made an impact in only his third event when he challenged for the recent Vodacom Championship title and finished tied fifth.

Pam Golding Ladies International

Dainfern Country Club, Johannesburg (Par 73)

Round 1 

66 Stacy Bregman68 Kiran Matharu (Eng)

69 Lee-Anne Pace, Rebecca Hudson (Eng)

70 Julie Tvede (Den), Emelie Svenningsson (Swe), Jehanne Jail (Fra)

71 Johanna Westerberg (Swe), Natou Soro (CDI), Marianne Skarpnord (Nor), Morgana Robbertze

72 Hanna-Leena Salonen (Fin), Eleanor Pilgrim (Wal), Amanda Moltke-Leth (Den), Cuyler Hedley (Can), Nora Angehrn (Swi), Mandy Adamson

73 Sophie Walker (Eng), Ashleigh Simon*, Felicity Johnson (Eng), Lisa Jean (Aus), Elin Brask (Swe), Maria Boden (Swe), Vanessa Bell (Eng), Nicole Becker*

74 Bertine Strauss*, Viva Schlasberg (Swe), Elin Ohlsson (Swe), Florence Luscher (Swi), Anne-Sophie Le Nalio (Fra), Martina Gillen (Ire), Kirsty Fisher (Eng), Anna Becker (Swe)

75 Emma Zackrisson (Swe), Lena Tornevall (Swe), Maria Ohlsson (Swe), Edita Nechanicka (Cze), Lizelle Muller*, Laurette Maritz, Zuzana Kamasova (Svk), Sarah Heath (Eng), Michelle de Vries, Antonella Cvitan (Swe), Nuria Clau (Spa)

76 Suzette Venter, Vicki Traut* , Josefin Svenningsson (Swe), Zelda Smook*, Kelli Shean*, Kaisa Ruuttila (Fin), Mercia Pretorius*, Leandri Pieterse, Kelly Hutcherson (Eng), Sohvi Harkonen (Fin), Sarah Faller* (Ire)

77 Tandi von Ruben*, Hanna-Sophia Svenningsson (Swe), Cheryl Smith (Eng), Monja Richards, Madeleine Holmblad (Swe), Nina Hansson (Swe), Sandra Eggermont (Ned), Frederique Dorbes (Fra), Kim Brookes *, Lise Botha

78 Sandra Winter*, Kim Williams*, Michelle Smith (Eng), Monique Smit*, Shelley Mckevitt (Eng), Nora Kagonyera (Uga), Angie Green (Can)

79 Iliska Verwey*, Cecilie Lundgreen, Julie Berton (Fra)

80 Frederique Seeholzer (Swi), Elsabe Hefer, Claire Coughlan (Ire)

81 Caryn Louw, Ashleigh Holmes*, Henriette Frylinck*

82 Lumien Lausberg, Alexandra Hinteregger* , Yushire Budhram*

83 Crizelda van Niekerk, Fabienne Haremza (Ger)

84 Maria de los Angeles Jimenez de Miguel (Spa)

86 Jessica Wycherley* (Sco), Santie Koch

WD Kanna Takanashi (Jpn)

WD Lill Kristin Saether (Nor)

WD Angie Milroy

DNS Patricia Beliard (Fra) 

SA unless otherwise noted

* denotes Amateur

Alexandra Hinteregger Amanda Moltke-Leth Angie Green Angie Milroy Anna Becker Anne-Sophie le Nalio Antonella Cvitan Ashleigh Holmes Ashleigh Simon Australia Bertine Strauss Caryn Louw Cecilie Lundgreen Cheryl Smith Claire Coughlan Crizelda van Niekerk Cuyler Hedley Dainfern Country Club Edita Nechanicka Eleanor Pilgrim Elin Brask Elin Ohlsson Elsabe Hefer Emelie Svenningsson Emma Zackrisson Fabienne Haremza Felicity Johnson Florence Luscher Frederique Dorbes Frederique Seeholzer Hanna-Leena Salonen Hanna-Sophia Svenningsson Henriette Frylinck Iliska Verwey Jehanne Jail Jessica Wycherley Johanna Westerberg Johannesburg Josefin Svenningsson Julie Berton Julie Tvede Kaisa Ruuttila Kanna Takanashi Kelli Shean Kelly Hutcherson Kim Brookes Kim Williams Kiran Matharu Kirsty Fisher Ladies African Tour Ladies European Tour Laurette Maritz Leandri Pieterse Lee-Anne Pace Lena Tornevall Lill Kristin Saether Lisa Jean Lise Botha Lizelle Muller Lumien Lausberg Madeleine Holmblad Mandy Adamson Maria Boden Maria de los Angeles Jimenez de Miguel Maria Ohlsson Marianne Skarpnord Martina Gillen Mercia Pretorius Michelle de Vries Michelle Smith Monique Smit Monja Richards Morgana Robbertze Natou Soro Neil Schietekat Nicole Becker Nina Hansson Nora Angehrn Nora Kagonyera Nuria Clau Pam Golding Ladies International Patricia Beliard Rebecca Hudson Sandra Eggermont Sandra Winter Santie Koch Sarah Faller Sarah Heath Shelley Mckevitt Sohvi Harkonen Sophie Walker South Africa Stacy Bregman Suzette Venter Tandi von Ruben Vanessa Bell Vicki Traut Viva Schlasberg Vodacom Championship World Amateur Team Championship Yushire Budhram Zelda Smook Zuzana Kamasova

Share this article:

About the Author:

<a href="" target="_self">gsport Newsroom</a>

gsport Newsroom

Launched in 2006, gsport exists to enhance the commercial prospects of our women athletes, and other women in sport, by telling the inspiring story of SA women in sport. Thank you for your contribution!


Submit a Comment

Recent Posts

Recent Comments


Related Posts