Ellis and Dludlu Announce Squads for COSAFA Cup

After one week of selection camp, Banyana Banyana Coach, Desiree Ellis and Under 17 coach, Simphiwe Dludlu have named their final 20-woman squad to participate in the 2020 COSAFA Women’s Championship and Under-17 Championship that will be staged in Port Elizabeth from the 3-14 November 2020.

The hosts and defending champions South Africa have won this tournament a record six times and are gunning for their seventh title and fourth in a row.

The Banyana Banyana coach believes she has a selected a strong squad comprising young talent and experience. Ellis said they were expecting tough competition and no team should be taken lightly in Group A where they are drawn against Eswatini, Comoros and Angola.

“The COSAFA Cup is for local players and it is always great to give new players a chance to prove themselves. I have been impressed with the work that the current crop of players have put in and the pre-tournament week will be an important one for us to polish up before the tournament starts,” said Ellis.

The team flew to Port Elizabeth on Tuesday afternoon and will begin with their pre-tournament camp that will run from 28 October to 2 November 2020.

Banyana Banyana Squad

Goalkeepers:  Kaylin Christen Swart (Unattached), Andile Dlamini (Mamelodi Sundowns FC)

Defenders:  Karabo Makhurubetshi (Mamelodi Sundowns FC), Koketso Mmathabo Tlailane (TUT-Pretoria), Bongeka Gamede (University of Western Cape), Sibulele Cecilia Holweni (University of Western Cape), Xiluva Tshabalala (Ma-Indies FC), Ongeziwe Ndlangisa (Sunflower FC), Kaylyn Octavia Jordaan (Spurs W.FC)

Midfielders:  Oratile Dikgosi Mokwena (Mamelodi Sundowns FC), Mamello Makhabane (JVW FC), Gabriela de Jesus Thomas Salgado (JVW FC), Robyn Kimberly Moodaly (JVW FC), Nonhlanhla Mthandi (Mamelodi Sundowns FC), Mapule Nomvula Kgoale (TUT-Pretoria), Karabo Angel Dhlamini (Mamelodi Sundowns FC), Lonathemba Mhlongo (Durban Ladies FC)

Strikers:  Hildah Tholakele Magaia (TUT-Pretoria), Neliswa Praiseworth Luthuli (Sunflower FC), Pride Itebogeng Nthite (TUT-Pretoria)

Coach:Desiree Ellis

South Africa Under-17 Squad:

GOALKEEPERS: Karabo Mohale, Manana Myeki

DEFENDERS: Mihle Lumko, Hlela Philisani, Nkateko Nkhuna, Shannon Macomo, Thimna Mphele, Flora Khosa, Yolanda Nduli

MIDFIELDERS: Jessica Wade, Janica Andrews, Nabeelah Galant, Aliyaah Allie, Lithemba Sam Sam, Cimone Sauls

STRIKERS: Oyisa Marhasi, Kananelo Taiwe, Jade Leask, Ronnel Donnelly, Tyler Scott

Coach: Simphiwe Dludlu

Please Rate this Post

0 ratings, 0 votes0 ratings, 0 votes (0 rating, 0 votes, rated)
You need to be a registered member to rate this.

Recent Posts


Follow Us