First Round Lead Wins Skarpnord SA Open Title

Norway’s Marianne Skarpnord poses with her trophy after being declared the winner of the 2013 SA Women’s Open at the Southbroom Golf Club on Sunday, 21 April, 2013. Inclement weather washed out play on all remaining days, and Skarpnord’s round 1 3-under par 69 score was good enough to clinch the title for her. Photo: Rogan Ward.

It was the shortest tournament victory in the career of Marianne Skarpnord. But it was also the toughest.

The Norwegian was declared the winner of the South African Women’s Open on Sunday after yet another brutal day of weather on the South Coast. With only the first round having been completed on Friday before the rain hit, the tournament was always under pressure to beat a freak run of weather.

Saturday’s play was completely washed out. Sunday allowed for a few holes of play before first the rain caused a suspension, and then gale force winds hit the course. At around 16:00, with the forecast for Monday showing equally strong winds, the Ladies European Tour and tournament promoters took the decision to declare the winner based on the first round scores alone.

Skarpnord’s three-under-par 69 was therefore good enough for the win. South Africans Ashleigh Simon and Stacy Bregman, Finland’s Minea Blomqvist, England’s Charley Hull, Sweden’s Camilla Lennarth, America’s Katie Burnett and German Nina Holleder all shared second place on tow-under-par 70.

“It’s not the way we all would have liked to end the tournament, but we all understand how difficult the weather was. It was a very challenging week for everybody,” said Skarpnord.

South Africa’s Kim Williams finished as the leading amateur following her round of level-par 72, earning her the Jackie Mercer Trophy.


2013 South African Women’s Open Round 1 Scores, at the Southbroom Golf Club, in KwaZulu-Natal, on Friday, 19 April, 2013:
1 Marianne Skarpnord (NOR) 69
2 Camilla Lennarth (SWE) 70
Stacy Lee Bregman (RSA) 70
Charley Hull (ENG) 70
Katie Burnett (USA) 70
Minea Blomqvist (FIN) 70
Ashleigh Simon (RSA) 70
Nina Holleder (GER) 70
9 Valentine Derrey (FRA) 71
Cathryn Bristow (NZL) 71
Rebecca Hudson (ENG) 71
Line Vedel (DEN) 71
Mallory Fraiche (USA) 71
Miriam Nagl (GER) 71
Emily Taylor (ENG) 71
16 Nontaya Srisawang (THA) 72
Sarah King (AUS) 72
Melissa Eaton (RSA) 72
Ursula Wikstrom (FIN) 72
Nicola Eaton (RSA) 72
Becky Brewerton (WAL) 72
Kim Williams (RSA) 72
Trish Johnson (ENG) 72
Katy McNicoll (SCO) 72
Lee-Anne Pace (RSA) 72
Celine Palomar (FRA) 72
27 Holly Clyburn (ENG) 73
Alana van Greuning (RSA) 73
Florentyna Parker (ENG) 73
Laurette Maritz (RSA) 73
Lucie Andre (FRA) 73
Kylie Walker (SCO) 73
Melanie Maetzler (SUI) 73
Daniela Holmqvist (SWE) 73
Nikki Campbell (AUS) 73
Georgina Simpson (ENG) 73
Louise Larsson (SWE) 73
Ji Sun Kang (KOR) 73
Marion Ricordeau (FRA) 73
Tania Elosegui (ESP) 73
Kaisa Ruuttila (FIN) 73
Monique Smit (RSA) 73
Sophie Walker (ENG) 73
44 Zuzana Kamasova (SVK) 74
Joanna Klatten (FRA) 74
Margherita Rigon (ITA) 74
Linda Wessberg (SWE) 74
Titiya Plucksataporn (THA) 74
Nikki Garrett (AUS) 74
Danielle Montgomery (ENG) 74
Sophie Giquel-Bettan (FRA) 74
Nicole Becker (RSA) 74
Henriette Frylinck (RSA) 74
Stacey Keating (AUS) 74
Mikaela Parmlid (SWE) 74
56 Malene Jorgensen (DEN) 75
Jade Schaeffer (FRA) 75
Yu Yang Zhang (CHN) 75
Tandi Cuningham (RSA) 75
Michaela Fletcher (RSA) 75
Maha Haddioui (MAR) 75
Veronica Zorzi (ITA) 75
Pamela Pretswell (SCO) 75
Connie Chen (RSA) 75
Gwladys Nocera (FRA) 75
Magda Kruger (RSA) 75
Bianca Theron (RSA) 75
Marjet van der Graaff (NED) 75
69 Jia Yun Li (CHN) 76
Whitney Hillier (AUS) 76
Alexandra Vilatte (FRA) 76
Maria Salinas (PER) 76
Cheyenne Woods (ISA) 76
Carly Booth (SCO) 76
Sophie Sandalo (ITA) 76
Morgana Robbertze (RSA) 76
Iliska Verwey (RSA) 76
78 Lydia Hall (WAL) 77
Hannah Burke (ENG) 77
Xi Yu Lin (CHN) 77
Anais Maggetti (SUI) 77
Julia Davidsson (SWE) 77
Cecilie Lundgreen (NOW) 77
Sahra Hassan (WAL) 77
85 Michelle de Vries (RSA) 78
Anne-Lise Caudal (FRA) 78
Leigh Whittaker (GER) 78
88 Bree Arthur (AUS) 79
Bonita Bredenhann (NAM) 79
Caroline Afonso (FRA) 79
Cara Gorlei (RSA) 79
Caryn Louw (RSA) 79
Tiffany Avern-Taplin (RSA) 79
94 Tijana Kraljevic (RSA) 80
Elina Nummenpaa (FIN) 80
Nobuhle Dlamini (SWZ) 80
Mandy Adamson (RSA) 80
Izel Pieters (RSA) 80
99 Ashleigh Holmes (RSA) 81
Lara Weinstein (RSA) 81
101 Danielle McVeigh (IRL) 82
Paula Hurtado (COL) 82
Kim Brookes (RSA) 82
Monja Richards (RSA) 82
105 Sharmila Nicollet (IND) 85
106 Betty Mokoena (RSA) 86
107 Virginia Espejo (ESP) 88
Nicole Loesch (RSA) 88


Please Rate this Post

0 ratings, 0 votes0 ratings, 0 votes (0 rating, 0 votes, rated)
You need to be a registered member to rate this.

Recent Posts


Follow Us