gsport’s 2007 Award Nominees

Attending gsport’s inaugural Hall of Fame Awards last year were hockey captain Marsha Marescia (gSTAR nominee), Cindy Grota (Woman in Media nominee), Karien Jonckheere (Woman in Media nominee), Nazli Thomas (Independent Newspapers sports journalist) and Ruth Africa (regular gsport contributor). Picture: gsport

So, I see you’ve already started voting …, which means you know that 1 August 2007 is a special day for gsport …for Girls!

That’s when we celebrate our first birthday, and we are commemorating this special occasion by honouring top women who serve as role models to young South Africans.
About 60 influential South African women will gather at the Westcliff for what promises to be a memorable morning, and one lucky gsport member will be whisked to Joburg to join us for this special day.
There are four award categories: Woman of the Year, Woman in Media, Style Star of the Year, and gSTAR (sportswoman) of the Year. We will also unveil our 2007 Hall of Fame inductee, who will join swimming icon, Penny Heyns, in our gsport Hall of Fame.
gsport Editor, Kass Naidoo, says its been a memorable few months since the launch of gsport last August, and women have responded enthusiastically to the gsport concept.

“While our core focus is to raise the profile of women in sport, our secondary aim is to showcase outstanding South African women, who can inspire young girls to achieve greatness, whatever their passion.

“Mentors and role models are needed more now, than ever, and our country is fortunate to posses so many of them,” said Kass.
Anyone can vote to ensure their favourite Leading Lady wins. All you have to do is click here , and vote. It’s that simple!
Regrettably only registered members are eligible for the gsport awards competition.
Introducing our Leading Ladies Nominees of the Year:

gsport Woman of the Year:

Leanne Manas (Bubbly Morning Live Anchor)
Noeleen Maholwana-Sangqu (Ever-Popular 3Talk Host)
Michelle Botes (Legendary South African actress)
Wendy Luhabe (Top South African businesswoman)
Lebo Mashile (Acclaimed Poet)
Lesley Copeman (South Africa’s top women’s golf coach)
Connie Ferguson (Seasoned Generations actress)
Cheryl Carolus (Top businesswoman and politician)
Thabiso Sikwane (Host of Afternoon Talk, SAfm)
Ruda Landman (Out-going Carte Blanche host)

gsport Woman in Media Nominees:
Karien Jonckheere (Dubai-based South African sports journalist)
Keletso Totlhanyo (SA’s only female live TV soccer director)
Lebo Thinane (Vivacious Kayafm Sports Anchor)
Cindy Grota (Top SuperSport Presenter)
Lebo Motsoeli (Popular SABC Sport Presenter)
Phiwe Tsholetsane (ASA Events, Marketing and Communications Manager)
Adele Tait (Passionate Editor of Ride Magazine)
Melinda Lombard (Experienced SABC Sport Executive Producer)
Zeena Isaacs (South Africa’s only female rugby analyst)
Style Star of the Year nominees:
Pabi Moloi (YFM Deejay)
Noni Gasa (Fashion Icon & TV Personality)
Nicole Fox (5FM Deejay and host of the MNET Movie Show)
Thuli Sithole (Former Miss South Africa)
Margaret vd Westhuizen (East Coast Radio Deejay)
Simphiwe Dana (Musical sensation)
Lebo Mathosa (Queen of Style)
Vanya Mangaliso (Owner of design label, Sun Goddess)
Joanne Joseph (Host of News@7)
Michelle Garforth (Top Environmental TV Host)
gSTAR of the Year Nominees
Marsha Marescia (SPAR National Women’s Hockey Captain)
Nomsebenzi Tsotsobe (Springbok Women’s Rugby Captain)
Portia Modise (Banyana Banyana Captain)
Johmari Logtenberg (KZN Women’s Cricket Captain)
Natalie du Toit (SA Swimming Sensation)
Ashleigh Simon (South African Pro Golfer)
Elizna Naude (Discus Sensation)
Yolandi du Toit (Champion Cyclist)
Praxedis Dim (Teenage Cross-Country Talent)
Mandisa Williams (Star Springbok Women’s Loose Forward)


Please Rate this Post

0 ratings, 0 votes0 ratings, 0 votes (0 rating, 0 votes, rated)
You need to be a registered member to rate this.

About the Author:

gsport Newsroom

gsport Newsroom

Launched in 2006, gsport exists to enhance the commercial prospects of our women athletes, and other women in sport, by telling the inspiring story of SA women in sport. Thank you for your contribution!

Recent Posts


Follow Us