ICC Announces First Ever Women’s Future Tours Program for 2022-2025

The International Cricket Council has announced a historic first ever Women’s Future Tours program that will see over 300 international women’s games played during 2022 and 2025. These games will feature a total of seven Test matches, 135 ODIs and 159 T20Is.

The women’s FTP reveals the international obligations for all sides until the end of April 2025, leading up to the ICC Women’s World Cup in India.

Some of the highlights of the inaugural women’s FTP include:

Fixtures confirmed for 2022-25 ICC Women’s Championship;
More Test match cricket between countries;
A standalone women’s only Ashes series between Australia and England in 2025.

“A result of a joint effort from Members, the FTP ensures more matches for teams with the enhancement of the ICC Women’s Championship (IWC) to a 10-team event. With teams featuring in more matches across formats in bilateral series, over 300 matches will be played as part of the 2022-25 FTP,” according to an official release.

“South Africa, England, India and are the other teams to schedule Tests during this period while some teams have planned five match T20I series,” stated the release further.

For a long time players and supporters of women’s cricket have demanded an increase in matches and a regularity in schedule. However, with lack of support from broadcasters in the past, cricket boards have not always been receptive. With numbers on seats in stadiums and viewership increasing, this is all about to change.

ICC General Manager of Cricket, Wasim Khan, said the confirmation of the first ever women’s FTP was a watershed moment for women’s cricket.

“This is a huge moment for the women’s game,” Khan said. “This FTP not only lends certainty to future cricket tours but also sets the base for a structure that is sure to grow in the coming years.”

All bilateral T20I matches count towards respective team rankings, which in turn serves as the primary mechanism for determining the teams that qualify for ICC global events.

One of the highlights on the women’s calendar is England’s next trip to Australia for the multi-format Ashes series. It will be a standalone series at the start of 2025, with the corresponding men’s series coming later that year.

Just last month, the ICC confirmed the host country for every women’s white-ball tournament to be played up until 2027, with the latest fixtures confirmed by the FTP all featuring around those major ICC events.

Full list of upcoming major ICC Women’s events:

February 2023 – Women’s T20 World Cup in South Africa

September / October 2024 – Women’s T20 World Cup in Bangladesh

September / October 2025 – Women’s Cricket World Cup in India

June 2026 – Women’s T20 World Cup in England

February 2027 – Women’s T20 Champions Trophy in Sri Lanka

Please Rate this Post

0 ratings, 0 votes0 ratings, 0 votes (0 rating, 0 votes, rated)
You need to be a registered member to rate this.

Recent Posts


Follow Us