Momentum Proteas Seal Back-to-Back Series Win

The unbeaten Momentum Proteas celebrate their ODI series whitewash win over visitors Bangladesh, at Supersport Park in Centurion on Tuesday, 24 September 2013. Photo: Cricket SA

The Momentum Proteas Women have capped off a successful tour against Bangladesh Women with clean sweeps in both the One-Day and T20 International series.

(Click to read the international season launch, click to read the Bangladesh T20 series wrap, click to read the first ODI match wrap on gsport and match scorecard on, click to read the second ODI match wrap on gsport and match scorecard on, click to read the third ODI match scorecard on

The Proteas Women beat Bangladesh Women by eight wickets in the third and final ODI at SuperSport Park in Centurion on Tuesday to clinch the ODI series 3-0. This is in addition to the T20I series which was also won 3-0.

Proteas coach, Hilton Moreeng, has been impressed by the performances from his players and says this start will be a good confidence boost ahead of a busy season.

“It’s been a fantastic effort by the players,” Moreeng said. “I’m particularly pleased by the way the senior players have stepped up and come forward with match-winning performances. There were a number of milestones this series; Marizanne (Kapp) got a hat-trick, Mignon (Du Preez) scored her maiden ODI century and Sunette (Loubser) played in her 50th ODI, this is a great start for us going into the season.”

Trisha Chetty and Marizanne Kapp put together an unbeaten 108-run partnership for the third-wicket in pursuit of the victory target of 178, which was reached in the 38th over. Chetty was the rock of the run-chase scoring 76 off 111 balls, in comparison to Kapp’s quick-fire innings of 59 off 67 balls.

Bangladesh Women were once against let down by a batting collapse after a strong start by the top order after being sent in to bat. Ayasha Rahman (70) and Rumana Ahmed (43) put together 93 for the second wicket to lift the visitors to 100 for one, but the rest of the line-up was unable to contribute towards a bigger total.

Bangladesh Women were eventually all out for 177, losing the last eight wickets for 65 runs.

Marcia Letsoalo ripped through the tail to finish with three for 35 and was assisted by contributions from Dane van Niekerk (2/26) and Marizanne Kapp (2/26). The bowlers have done a sterling job throughout the series, and have managed to restrict the visitors to totals below 200.

Young debutant opener Lizelle Lee finished as the leading run-scorer of the series with 166 runs including two scores in the seventies. Leg-spinner, Sunette Loubser was the leading wicket-taker with seven wickets at an average of 11.

“This series has also been a great opportunity for the youngsters to learn their trade at International level,” Moreeng continued. “We saw some encouraging performances from our youngsters like Lizelle (Lee) and Elriesa (Theunissen) so that bodes well for the next generation of South African Women’s cricketers.”

The Momentum Proteas Women’s next series is against Sri Lanka from October 24th.


Fixtures and Results for the Home ODI Series against Bangladesh:
Fri 20 Sept: South African beat Bangladesh by 6 wickets to win the first ODI
Sun 22 Sept: South Africa beat Bangladesh by 96 runs to win the second ODI
Tue 24 Sept: South Africa beat Bangladesh by 8 wickets to win the third ODI
Schedule for the Momentum Proteas vs Sri Lanka ODI tour in October and November 2013:
Fri 18: Sri Lanka Arrive in South Africa
Tue 22: One Day Warm Up vs SA Emerging
Thu 24: 1st ODI
Sat 26: 2nd ODI
Mon 28: 3rd ODI
Thu 31: 1st T20
November 2013:
Sat 2: 2nd T20
Sun 3: 3rd T20
Momentum SA Women’s ODI Squad:
Trisha Chetty (KwaZulu-Natal Coastal)
Moseline Daniels (Western Province)
Mignon du Preez (capt, Northerns)
Shabnim Ismail (Western Province)
Marizanne Kapp (Eastern Province)
Alexis Le Breton (Western Province)
Lizelle Lee (North West)
Marcia Letsoalo (Northerns)
Sunette Loubser (Boland)
Suné Luus (Northerns)
Dané van Niekerk (Eastern Province)
Bernadine Bezuidenhout (Western Province)
Yolandi Potgieter (Boland)
Elriesa Theunissen (North West)
Bangladesh Women’s Squad:
Salma Khatun (Captain)
Ayasha Rahman
Fahima Khatun
Fargana Hoque
Jahanara Alam
Khadija Tul Kubra
Lata Mondal
Lily Rani Biswas
Nuzhat Tasnia (Wicketkeeper)
Panna Ghosh
Ritu Moni
Rumana Ahmed
Shaila Sharmin
Shathira Jakir
Sultana Yesmin

(With editing by gsport)


Please Rate this Post

0 ratings, 0 votes0 ratings, 0 votes (0 rating, 0 votes, rated)
You need to be a registered member to rate this.

About the Author:

gsport Contributor

gsport Contributor

This account is used to publish material provided to gsport by various third parties. While gsport ensures best endeavours to ensure that contributors have standing and that their contributions are relevant and legitimate, gsport's standard limitations in respect of third-party content apply.

Recent Posts


Follow Us