Morocco to Host Inaugural CAF Women’s Champions League

by | Apr 3, 2021

The Moroccan Football Federation have won the rights to host the inaugural CAF Women’s Champions League, which is set to take place later this year.

The continent’s football body stated, “The Total CAF Women’s Champions League 2021 competition will be organized during the period of October, November or December each year as per the resolution of the CAF Executive Committee.

“Seven teams will qualify for the final tournament through qualifiers organized by the zonal unions in addition to the champion club from the host country who gains automatic qualification.”

The latest announcement has come just three months after Morocco emerged as the first African Women’s Cup of Nations hosts in the North African region.

“Morocco will continue to host international and continental matches, noting that the Royal Moroccan Football Federation team will represent Morocco in the first African Women’s Champions League as the champion of the Moroccan League, which our country will host,” Moroccan FA president Faouzi Lakjaa said on FRMF website.

“All those interested in Moroccan football are to pay attention to women’s football and smaller groups, and to open the way for young players to participate with their clubs,” he concluded.

Competition details and fixtures are to be finalized and released in the coming months.


Photo 1 Caption: The Moroccan Women’s National Football team. Photo: FRMF


Share this article:

About the Author:

Recent Posts

Recent Comments


Related Posts