Olympic Training Squad Announced

by | Sep 5, 2007


Lesle-Ann George (back), Marsha Marescia (front left) and Tarryn Hosking of SPAR South Africa seem a little out-numbered in their second Good Luck Beijing match against hosts China early August. China won 3-0. Picture courtesy Good Luck Beijing.

Hockey South Africa has announced the names of a 31-woman Olympic Training Squad, despite rumours that the South African women’s hockey team will not be allowed to participate by the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC).

Dave Carr, president of the South African Hockey Association, has dispelled the rumours, after a regular scheduled meeting with SASCOC.

"All national sports federations involved in the Olympics have been having talks with SASCOC," the Natal Witness quotes Carr saying. "The talks have been amicable, and there is no reason to doubt that."

The South African women’s hockey team qualified for Olympic participation after a clean-sweep in the African qualifier tournament in Kenya during July, where the team failed to concede a goal in their seven matches against Kenya, Namibia, Nigeria, Zimbabwe and Ghana.

The team subsequently featured in a four-nations Olympic preparation tournament also including hosts China, and top-rated Australia and Argentina, in which SA finished last after conceding 15 goals against 1 scored.

National coach Jenny King was quoted as expressing dissatisfaction at the wooden-spoon result, while acknowledging that her players had made good progress after a disappointing start.

The following players have been selected for the Olympic Training Squad:

Mariette Rix (Western Province)
Sanani Mangisa (Northerns)
Hanli Hattingh (Northerns)

Cindy Brown (Western Province)
Fiona Butler (Southern Gauteng)
Kate Hector (Western Province)
Kim Hubach (Northerns)
Leigh Boardman (Western Province)
Lenise Marais (Western Province)
Lisa-Marie Deetlefs (Southern Gauteng)
Mapule Makoena (Southern Gauteng)
Mingnon Collinse (North West)
Nita Van Jaarsveld (Southern Gauteng)
Taryn Hosking (Western Province)
Vidette Ryan (Western Province)

Kathleen Taylor (Western Province)
Lesle-Ann George (North West)
Marcelle Keet (Northerns)
Marsha Marescia (Southern Gauteng)
Tarryn Bright (Western Province)

Chrizelle Andries (Northerns)
Dirkie Chamberlain (Northerns)
Farrah Fredericks (Western Province)
Henna du Buisson (Western Province)
Jen Wilson (KwaZulu Natal)
Liesl Dorothy (Eastern Province)
Louise Moore (Northerns)
Sarah Harley (Southern Gauteng)
Sharne Bailey (Southern Gauteng)
Shelley Russell (Western Province)
Vida Ryan (Western Province)

Selectors: Adele Madsen, Juliete Ranyane, Jenny King, Fabian Gregory, El-may Pelser

Share this article:

About the Author:

<a href="https://gsport.co.za/members/gsport_newsroom/" target="_self">gsport Newsroom</a>

gsport Newsroom

Launched in 2006, gsport exists to enhance the commercial prospects of our women athletes, and other women in sport, by telling the inspiring story of SA women in sport. Thank you for your contribution!

Recent Posts

Recent Comments


Related Posts

SA Indoor Hockey Squad for 2022 FIH World Cup Announced
SA Indoor Hockey Squad for 2022 FIH World Cup Announced

Incoming SA Indoor Women’s Hockey team captain Jess O’Connor is highly regarded to take charge of a settled team featuring a few promising debutants in a golden opportunity to participate in the FIH Indoor Hockey World Cup 2022 in Belgium #GoGirls #gsportGlobal