Pauw Names 21-Strong CAF AWC Squad

The South African Women’s Senior National Team (Banyana Banyana) coach, Vera Pauw has named a strong 21-player squad to represent the country at the 10th edition of the CAF African Women’s Championship, which will be held in Namibia from 11 – 25 October 2014.

The Sasol-sponsored Banyana Banyana have been drawn in the “Group of Death” together with Cameroon, Algeria and Ghana. They face Cameroon in their opening match of the group on Sunday, 12 October at the Independence Stadium.

Banyana Banyana started preparations for Namibia immediately after beating the Union of Comoros 13 – 0 in their qualifying match.

Vera Pauw started preparations with 31 players and had to trim the squad to 21 players as per the CAF rules.

Goalkeeper, Roxanne Barker is the only overseas based player included in the squad, while the rest of the players all play for Sasol league teams in different provinces.

“This is the worst part of my job as head coach, having to release players in such a great group was not an easy task. This was the most difficult moment of my career,” said Pauw.

“The players which have been released from the team have asked to remain and train with the rest of the team, and that for me showed great team spirit. This shows that there is something special about these players, and I hope we will be able to display that in Namibia,” Pauw concluded.

Pauw and her charges have been holding training camps for the past four months. Since qualifying for the AWC, they have played eight international friendly matches, winning seven and playing to a goalless draw against Zimbabwe.

They beat neighbours Botswana, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Tanzania, Zambia and Cote dI’voire.

“Sasol is truly behind the team as they venture into the battle field in the next two weeks and they can be assured of our more than 33 000 Sasolites’ support,” said Dumisani Mbokane, Sasol Sponsorship Specialist.


The Banyana Banyana Squad for the 2014 CAF African Women’s Championship, in Namibia, from 11-25 October 2014:
Andile Dlamini (Mamelodi Sundowns) Sasol League – Gauteng
Thokozile Mndaweni (Croesus FC) Sasol League – Gauteng
Roxanne Barker (Por KA) Iceland
Noko Matlou (Ma-Indies FC) Sasol League – Limpopo
Nothando Vilakazi (Palace Super Falcons) Sasol League – Gauteng
Janine van Wyk (JVW FC) Sasol League – Gauteng
Nomathemba Ntsibande (Springs Home Sweepers) Sasol League – Gauteng
Simphiwe Dludlu (TUKS Ladies FC) Sasol League – Gauteng
Lebogang Ramalepe (Ma-Indies FC) Sasol League – Limpopo
Gloria Thato (University of Pretoria) Sasol League – Gauteng
Amanda Dlamini (University of Johannesburg) Sasol League – Gauteng
Sanah Mollo (Mamelodi Sundowns FC) Sasol League – Gauteng
Leandra Smeda (UWC Ladies) Sasol League – Western Cape
Refiloe Jane (VUT Ladies) Sasol League – Gauteng
Mamello Makhabane (Palace Super Falcons) Sasol League – Gauteng
Mpumi Nyandeni (JVW FC) Sasol League – Gauteng
Shiwe Nongwanya (Bloemfontein Celtics Ladies) Sasol League – Free State
Silindile Ngubane (Durban Ladies FC) Sasol League – KZN
Ode Fulutudilu (Spurs FC) Sasol League – Western Cape
Thembi Kgatlana (TUT) Sasol League – Gauteng
Portia Modise (Croesus FC) Sasol League – Gauteng

Photo 1 caption: Sasol Banyana Banyana coach Vera Pauw and Sasol Sponsorship Specialist Dumisani Mbokane at the naming of the 21-strong South African Women’s Senior National Soccer squad for the 10th CAF African Women’s Championship in Namibia from 11–25 October. Photo: SAFA_net on Twitter


(With editing by gsport)

Please Rate this Post

0 ratings, 0 votes0 ratings, 0 votes (0 rating, 0 votes, rated)
You need to be a registered member to rate this.

Recent Posts


Follow Us