SA Excited for 2013 Cricket World Cup

by | Oct 23, 2012

Experience gained at the ICC World T20 2012 has levelled the playing field, says SA Proteas captain Mignon du Preez. Du Preez is pictured punching down the ground during a T20 International against the West Indies at the North West University on 14 October, 2010, in Potchefstroom. Photo: Lee Warren / Gallo ImagesMonday marked 100-days to the start of the ICC Women’s World Cup India 2013, the most prestigious and eagerly awaited event in the women’s cricket calendar.

All eyes will be focused on the city of Mumbai which is set to host the event from 31 January to 17 February 2013.

The 50-over women’s World Cup will feature the top eight ODI women’s sides in the world, who will battle it out to be crowned ICC Women’s World Cup champions across five venues. Holders England, along with New Zealand, Australia and India all qualified for next year’s event by virtue of finishing in the top four of the ICC Women’s World Cup 2009.

Joining the top four will be the top four sides from the ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifier 2011 which was held in Bangladesh in November last year. Winners West Indies, along with Pakistan, Sri Lanka and South Africa make up the remaining places in the tournament.

South Africa Captain Mignon du Preez believes her team has a chance of doing very well at the tournament.

“Competing in the ICC Women’s World T20 showed us that the gap between top 4 and bottom has closed. We have better perspective of our opponents now and will be able to better counter whatever they throw at us,” she says.

“Playing in the sub-continent will be very different from playing at home but we have a bit of experience playing in those conditions now. We’re stronger as a team and have a great opportunity to do well.”

“We are getting together in November to start preparing. We took a few weeks off after ICC Women’s World T20 in Sri Lanka. We are also touring the Caribbean in December before the world cup.”

The matches will be played at five venues across Mumbai, which are – Wankhede Stadium, Bandra Kurla Complex (BKC), Cricket Club of India (CCI), Middle Income Group Club Ground (MIG) and DY Patil Stadium. The tournament schedule will be announced in late November in Mumbai.

This is the third time India will host the event, with the country hosting previous editions of the tournament in 1978 and 1997.

The Women’s World Cup has been running for longer than the men’s version and was first staged in England in 1973, when it was won by the hosts, which beat Australia by 118 runs in the final at Edgbaston, Birmingham.

Since then there have been a further eight tournaments with Australia winning five of them (1978, 1982, 1988, 1997 and 2005), England winning twice (1993 and 2009) and New Zealand (2000) triumphing once.

The tournament has been staged twice each in England (1973 and 1993), India (1978 and 1997) , New Zealand (1982 and 2000) and Australia (1988 and 2009) as well as South Africa (2005).

The tournament has grown in stature after International Women’s Cricket Council merged with International Cricket Council (ICC) in 2005. It was staged under the aegis of the ICC for the first time in 2009.



Share this article:

About the Author:


Submit a Comment

Recent Posts

Recent Comments


Related Posts