South Africa Celebrates Banyana Banyana

by | Nov 29, 2020

South Africa celebrated Banyana Banyana on Friday night as the country tuned into a live broadcast of a celebratory dinner hosted by Sports Minister, Nathi Mthethwa, as he showered the team with medals, certificates and a cheque for R500 000, following their fourth consecutive COSAFA Women’s Championship win.

The event was hosted by leading sports broadcaster, Lebo Motsoeli, who often uses her platform to fight for equality in women’s sport.

Addressing the audience, including leading media houses, Minister Mthethwa, said: “Simply put, Banyana Banyana is the best performing national team in South African football.”

He added: “Equal pay for equal work is something we strive for and commit to vigorously. While I am around, I will do everything to fight for gender equality.”

Banyana Banyana coach, Desiree Ellis, thanked team sponsor, Sasol, for standing by the team during two Olympics and one World Cup campaign.

Captain, Andile Dlamini, also acknowledged the support and used the platform to call for more backing from leading brands.

“I would like to urge corporates to come on board because now is the time to take women’s football seriously.”

Dlamini played a vital role in the team’s success during this year’s edition of the COSAFA tournament as she stood in for the injured Janine van Wyk.

The multi-talented goalkeeper serenaded the audience with an incredible vocal performance on the night.


Photo 1 Caption: SA Sports Minister Nathi Mthethwa showers the team with medals, certificates and a cheque for R500,000 on Friday night in Johannesburg, following their fourth consecutive COSAFA Women’s Championship win. Photo: gsport

Share this article:

About the Author:

<a href="" target="_self">gsport Newsroom</a>

gsport Newsroom

Launched in 2006, gsport exists to enhance the commercial prospects of our women athletes, and other women in sport, by telling the inspiring story of SA women in sport. Thank you for your contribution!


Submit a Comment

Recent Posts

Recent Comments


Related Posts

SA Rugby Referees Punt Women’s Empowerment
SA Rugby Referees Punt Women’s Empowerment

Aimee Barrett-Theron remains the sole woman on SA Rugby’s National Panel of Referees, Ashleigh Murray-Pretorius retains her position on the Sevens Referees squad while the addition of Akhona Mncolomba, Zoe Naude, Yohane Halgryn and Tshepi Moropa bring the Women’s Panel to eleven match officials.