Stander Regains Form with MTB Stage Race Win

Team RE:CM’s Ariane Kleinhans (SUI) and Cherise Stander (RSA) completed their domination of the three-day DuToit Tankwa Trek mountain bike stage on Sunday, claiming a third consecutive stage win and the overall women’s team title on Sunday.

The pair were always under pressure from the Sasol Racing pair of Ischen Stopforth (RSA) and Yolande de Villiers (RSA), who finished second on each stage and second overall. The final stage saw just a 17-second gap between RE:CM and Sasol Racing.

The Pragma Orange Monkey’s pair of Hanlie Booyens (RSA) and Mariske Strauss (RSA) was third overall.

“I didn’t feel too well today so struggled a bit more than on the other two days,” said a weary Stander, widow of the late Burry Stander. “With about a kilometre to go, Ariane, who was behind me, said she could see Sasol Racing catching us and we need to pick up the pace, so we pushed the last bit quite hard.

“Ariane is so incredibly strong. She was an amazing teammate and motivator. I would never have ridden that hard without her support, both physically and emotionally. I couldn’t have asked for a better partner and one day my goal is to race a Cape Epic with her,” added Stander.

“It was good to win. I haven’t won a mountain bike race in ages. After struggling emotionally for the whole of last year after losing Burry, I’m now regaining my physical form, and a hunger to race hard again. And this weekend’s success wouldn’t have been possible without the really professional support of our Team RE:CM staff. It was a truly great event with some amazing trails and food!” remarked Stander.

England’s Leona Kadir won the final stage and the overall women’s Solo category title, while the John O’Connor Cycles pair of Andrew Payne (RSA) and Bianca Cartoulis (RSA) rounded out their Mixed Category domination of the event with a third stage win and the overall crown.


Leading Final General Classification of the DUTOIT Tankwa Trek 2014:
Team Women:
1. RE:CM – Ariane Kleinhans (SUI) / Cherise Stander (RSA) 12:06:07
2. Sasol Racing – Ischen Stopforth (RSA) / Yolande de Villiers (RSA) 12:21:17
3. Pragma Orange Monkeys – Hanlie Booyens (RSA) / Mariske Strauss (RSA) 12:42:59
4. Sasol Racing 2 – Jennie Stenerhag (SWE) / Yolandi du Toit (RSA) 13:01:37
5. Dawn Wing/Momsen – Ann Harrison (RSA) / Marleen Lourens (RSA) 13:48:11
Solo Women:
1. Leona Kadir (ENG) 14:11:12
2. Ingrid Serritslev (RSA) 14:26:07
3. Colleen Jacobs (RSA) 16:19:04
4. Nina Hind (RSA) 18:43:55
5. Liza Mason (RSA) 19:52:02
1. John O’ Connor Cycles – Andrew Payne (RSA) / Bianca Caroulis (RSA) 13:15:51
2. CWC-Fondriest – Fourie Kotze (RSA) / Leana de Jager (RSA) 13:44:17
3. Haven Freeborne Cycles – Amanda Brooks (RSA) / Darren Ksolocki (RSA) 14:26:39
4. Geldenhuys – Sunet Geldenhuys (RSA) / Aldre Geldenhuys (RSA) 15:15:50
5. Unknown Territory – Stefan Oberholzer (RSA) / Carla Oberholzer 15:24:43

For full results, visit


Photo caption: Team RE:CM’s Cherise Stander (nearest camera) and Ariane Kleinhans claimed the women’s team category stage win and the overall title at the DUTOIT Tankwa Trek on Sunday. Photo: Zoon Cronje/XtreMedia


(With editing by gsport)

Please Rate this Post

0 ratings, 0 votes0 ratings, 0 votes (0 rating, 0 votes, rated)
You need to be a registered member to rate this.

About the Author:

gsport Contributor

gsport Contributor

This account is used to publish material provided to gsport by various third parties. While gsport ensures best endeavours to ensure that contributors have standing and that their contributions are relevant and legitimate, gsport's standard limitations in respect of third-party content apply.

Recent Posts


Follow Us