Whitebooi, Magerman, Joseph Headline World University Games Team

Star Judoka and 2022 Momentum gsport Awards Ministerial Recognition of Excellence winner, Michaela Whitebooi, has been given the honour of being Team South Africa’s flagbearer at the 2021 FISU World University Games.

Whitebooi, who received the flag from celebrated athlete and another multiple former gsport award winner, Tatjana Schoenmaker, told gsport writer, Rudene Hare, that being given the honour of being flagbearer, was “a great honour”.

Whitebooi is part of a strong female contingent on Team South Africa, including two other former gsport award winners, 2014 Up and Coming Athlete of the Year, Gezelle Magerman and 400m hurdler and 2019 Emerging Athlete of the Year, Rogail Joseph.

Reacting to her selection, Joseph, a student at North West University, said: “It really means a lot for me to be in the SA team after a tough year and I’m so proud of myself for this achievement.

“It means so much to me. Iit will be hard but I know I will make it through. It’s a huge achievement for me to represent SA and I will definitely make SA proud.”

The Games were postponed for two years due to Covid-19 and there is great excitement as the 31st Summer Universiade is officially set to take place in Chengdu, China from 28 July – 8 August 2023.

University Sport South Africa CEO Marissa Langeni believes the Games are of huge benefit to student athletes: “The World University Games are often said to be only second to Olympics & provide such a remarkable opportunity for our student athletes.”

USSA World University Women’s Team  


Gerda        Roux – Manager/Coach (Archery SA)


Deidre        Jordaan – Manager/Coach (NWU- Potchefstroom)


Takalani Mfamadi – Team Manager (Durban University of Technology)



Bailey         Davenport – University of Tennessee

Bailey         Heydra       – University of Nevada

Jenna         Douglas – Rutgers University


Athi Diliz – Team Manager (Wits)

Aimee Nicole      Gillis – Coach      Female (SSA)


Louise        Lombaard – Coach (Fencing SA)


Lisa Conradie     – University of Pretoria 

Tamsyn Bessit – University of Witwatersrand

Azra Dewan  – University of Hertfordshire


Robyn Mueller – Coach (SAGF)



Charne Griesel – University of Pretoria

Michaela Whitebooi – University of Pretoria

Done Breytenbach – University of Pretoria


Ilze Wickshell – Team Manager (University of Pretoria)



Dune Coetzee     – University of Georgia        
Georgia Nel – University of North Carolina

Erin Gallagher     – University of Pretoria

Hannah Pearse – University of Pretoria

Inge Weidemann – University of Pretoria

Kaylene Corbett – University of Pretoria

Kerryn        Herbst        – University of Pretoria
Kristin        Bellingan – University of Pretoria   
Catherine van Rensburg – University of Pretoria

Kate Meyer – University of Pretoria

Tayla Jonker – University of Pretoria

Lizanne Viljoen – University of Pretoria

Officials Channel van Wyk – Assistant Coach (Swim SA)
Cheryl        Kotze – Team Manager (Nelson Mandela University)



Chloe         Cresswell – University of Pretoria

Nadia         Gaspari  – University of Johannesburg

Courtney Westley – University of Pretoria


Mahlasedi Phiri – Team Manager (Rowing SA)

Water Polo        


Erin Harty – Nelson Mandela University

Courtney O’Shaughnessy – Salem University

Lucy Miszewski – San Jose State University   

Jo Williams – University of Cape Town

Oluchi        McMurray – University of Pretoria 

Kiara Schutte – University of Pretoria

Jenna         Weppelman – University of Pretoria

Leila Broomhall – Stellenbosch University

Stephanie Berry – Stellenbosch University       Jordan       Harding – Stellenbosch University

Paige Tancre – IIE Varsity College

TaylinBlues – IIE Varsity College

Iman Akomolafe -IIE Varsity College      


Zanne        Smit  – IIE Varsity College

Tamsyn Evezard – Concordia University – Irvine


Debra         Windsor – Team Manager ( IIE Varsity College)


Tamzin  Thomas – NWU      

Banele       Shabangu – TUT

Marlie         Viljoen        – UP 

Angelique Strydom – TUT              

Charne Swart – UP      

Danielle Verster – USA

Nicola        Jansen       – USA       

Lesego Mpshe – USA  

Taylon Bieldt – TUT     

Antoniette van der Merwe -USA    

Rogail        Joseph       – NWU      

Karabo       Mailula – UP      

Karabo More – UJ       

Tsholofelo Masigo – TUT

Karmen Fouche – NWU        

Michelle Ngozo – IIE VC

Yolandi Stander – UFS

Bodine       Umberti – USA

Leandri Geel –     UJ

Marga        Cumming – NWU

Jana van Schalkwyk – SU    

Mckyla       van der Westhuizen – USA   

Phindile Kubheka – NWU     

Joviale       Mbisha – UJ      

Precious Molepo – TUT        

Gezelle Magerman – TUT    

Michaela Oosthuizen – UP   

Simonay Weitsz – TUT


Collette Uys – USA


Hanlie        Murray       –  Team Manager (TUT)       

Kesa Molotsane –  Manager & Coach (UFS)

Patience Ntshingila – Coach (Jumps)      (UJ)


Ester de Kock     – University of Free-State

Marine       Vos – University of Pretoria

Mbali Langa – McNeese State University        

Lisa-Arlet Morkel – Fairfield University


Reze Opperman – University of Free-State     


Thobejane – Team Manager (University of Pretoria)

Kyla Yelverton    – Assistant Coach (University of Pretoria)                                            

Photo 1 Caption: Micheala Whitebooi and Tatjana Schoeman with delegates at SASCOC Olympic House. Photo: ussastudent (Instagram)

Please Rate this Post

0 ratings, 0 votes0 ratings, 0 votes (0 rating, 0 votes, rated)
You need to be a registered member to rate this.

Recent Posts


Follow Us