Champion Women in Sport Headline Fourth Monthly #GAL2023 Intake

Award-winning South African women in sport headline the fourth monthly intake of newsmakers ahead of our fifth edition of the gsport Annual List event powered by Momentum, in partnership with Telkom, in December 2023.

During the month of March, athletes broke new ground in their respective sporting codes as they proudly flew the country’s flag high.

On home soil, Banyana Banyana and Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies goalkeeper Andile Dlamini was one of the big winners at the SA Sport Awards, where she was honoured with the Sports Star of the Year crown for her outstanding performances on the continent.

Caitlin Rooskrantz continued to dominate the gymnastics scene as she went on to win the Senior Olympic WAG title at the National Championships.

Also making the list is running star Prudence Sekgodiso who topped the charts in the 800m and 1500m races at the ASA Track and Field Championships.

Scroll down to click through to the updates featuring the full list of Newsmakers below!

The gsport Annual List (#GAL) was launched in 2019 to show how far women’s sport has come. It is South Africa’s only Newsmakers event that is dedicated to women’s sport.


Click here to watch the video on YouTube!


Fourth Monthly Newsmakers Intake for #GAL2023:

Andile Dlamini – SA Sport Awards Sports Star of the Year

Andile Dlamini and Lara van Niekerk Win Big at SA Sport Awards


Ashleigh Buhai – SA Women’s Golf Open Champion

Ashleigh Buhai Takes Investec SA Women’s Open With a Victory Lap


Caitlin Rooskrantz – Senior Olympic WAG Champion

Caitlin Rooskrantz Wins Senior Olympic WAG National Champs Crown


Candice Lill – Inaugural Bike Festival Site Women’s Champion

Candice Lill Crowned Elite Women’s Champ at Bike Fest


Charlene Pienaar – First-Ever SA Woman Blind Golf World Champion

SA’s Charlene Pienaar Celebrates International Breakthrough in Cape Town


Danielle van Wyk – Karate 1 Series A Bronze Medal Honours

Danielle van Wyk wins bronze at Karate 1 Series A


DP World Lions – Provincial T20 Cup Champions

Lions Pull Off Dramatic Win Over WP to Clinch T20 Cup Glory


Kim MacDonald – Sets New SA Para Athletics Long Jump Record

Kim MacDonald Jumps to New Record at SASAPD National Champs


Prudence Sekgodiso – Athletics SA 800m and 1500m Champion

Double Gold for Prudence Sekgodiso at ASA Track and Field Champs


WP Cricket – Provincial One-Day Cup Champions

Western Province Crowned One-Day Cup Champions

Please Rate this Post

0 ratings, 0 votes0 ratings, 0 votes (0 rating, 0 votes, rated)
You need to be a registered member to rate this.

Recent Posts


Follow Us