Cream of Junior Tennis in Bloem

Hoër Meisieskool Bloemhof win their 6th consecutive Amanda Coetzer Challenge title on Saturday 13 May 2006. Pictured from left to right are: Pietie Norval (coach), Lize De Klerk, Elzanne Aspeling, Andrie Meiring, Hanneri de Klerk (captain), Madelé Janse van Rensburg, Menanteau Moolman, Suzelle Davin and Suska Coetzer. 
The cream of South African junior girls’ tennis will descend on Bloemfontein this week for the prestigious Amanda Coetzer Challenge, lead by Hoër Meisieskool Bloemhoef, which returns to defend their 6-year winning streak.

With the Challenge playing host to a duelling ground for national champions set to battle it out, joint sponsors ABSA and Resolution Health are proud to enable the event’s 10th year.
Six of South Africa’s top school girl tennis teams will battle for the trophy in a round robin tournament to be played at Amanda Coetzer’s alma mater, Oranje Meisieskool, between Thursday to Saturday.
The defending champions Hoër Meisieskool Bloemhof of Stellenbosch will be hoping for their eighth consecutive win.  
The strong Bloemhof line up includes national number 1 Andrie Meiring, as well as 2005 U16 national champion Lize de Klerk.
Bloemhof coach Pietie Norval, a former world doubles champion, said he was confident that his girls would lift trophy come Saturday: “My team are well prepared and ready for the challenge.
“Winning on Saturday is our focus and although the competition will be tough each member of our team realises the importance of this tournament and the benefits of winning,” contined Norval.
Pretoria’s Hoërskool Waterkloof are the only other school to have won the Challenge (3 times) and will pose the biggest to Bloemhof.
Hosts, Hoër Meisieskool Oranje, led by former national champion Estelle Erasmus, are also amongst the favourite teams this year.
Oranje who have been runner up since the tournament’s inception will be hoping to finally take top honours in this the centenary year of their school.
Dark horse of the tournament, Hoërskool Menlopark, may cause an upset with Bianca Swanepoel in their line up.
Swanepoel is one of South Africa’s most talented up-and-coming tennis players, and represented South Africa in the Nike Junior Tour International Masters held in Nice, France and is a regular competitor on the international junior circuit.

The announced teams are as follows:
Hoër Meisieskool Bloemhof:
Madelie Janse van Rensburg
Andrie Meiring
Lize de Klerk
Elzanne Aspeling
Menanteau Moolman
Johanie van Zyl
Dané Joubert

Hoërskool Cradock:
Nandi Norval
Elizna Barnard
Carolyn Fletcher
Ilse van der Nest
Shereé Nel
Charné Snyman

Hoërskool Menlopark:
Bianca Swanepoel
Natasha Swanepoel
Inge Ruhling
Hanneke Potgieter
Linke Combrink
Danelle Kritzinger
Petrone Bezuidenhout

Hoër Meisieskool Oranje:
Estelle Erasmus
Alicia Beneke
Deoné Zietsman
Nicolene Gordon
Bernadette du Toit
Frannè Pieterse
Sumandi Nel

Hoërskool Stellenbosch:
Riekie Honiball
Riëtte Kotzé
Maryke Mouton
Elné Barnard
Salomien Louw
Adri Lochner
Danél Bruwer

Hoërskool Waterkloof:
Freda Louw
Katja Dresselhaus
Welma Luus
Carmia van Wyk
Sue-Ann Makkink
Anida Botes
Moné Janse van Rensburg 

Please Rate this Post

0 ratings, 0 votes0 ratings, 0 votes (0 rating, 0 votes, rated)
You need to be a registered member to rate this.

About the Author:

gsport Newsroom

gsport Newsroom

Launched in 2006, gsport exists to enhance the commercial prospects of our women athletes, and other women in sport, by telling the inspiring story of SA women in sport. Thank you for your contribution!

Recent Posts


Follow Us