Cricket World Cup Qualifiers Tabled

by | Jan 23, 2008

Following the release of the South African national cricket squad to contest the qualifiers for the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup in Australia, 2009, Cricket South Africa has announced the schedule of matches to be played.

In a packed week beginning Sunday 17 February, the eight teams competing the World Cup qualification process will each engage in three preliminary rounds, followed by the semi-finals, play-offs and the final.

Besides the host nation, Zimbabwe, Papua New Guinea, Bermuda, Ireland, Pakistan, Scotland and the Netherlands will all vie for the two remaining available slots in the ICC Women’s World Cup in Australia in 2009.

Defending champion Australia, India, England, New Zealand, Sri Lanka and the West Indies have all earned automatic qualification for the 2009 event, following their top-six finish in 2005 when it was held in Pretoria, South Africa.

The eight teams have been divided into two pools with South Africa, Netherlands, Bermuda and Papua New Guinea forming Pool A, while Pool B will comprise of Ireland, Pakistan, Zimbabwe and Scotland.

The top two teams from each pool will qualify for the semi-finals, and the winners of those matches will lock horns in the final on 24 February at Stellenbosch University, knowing that they have already qualified for the big one in Australia next year.

Twenty matches will be played over the course of the seven-day tournament, of which six will secure official ODI status, being the two semi-finals, the final and the third-fourth place play-off matches, the Pakistan v Ireland game on the opening day, and South Africa v the Netherlands on 21 February.

According to current ICC rankings, South Africa is in seventh position, followed by Ireland in eighth place, the Netherlands in ninth and Pakistan in 10th, and the rankings will be revised following the teams’ performances in this competition.

The Women’s World Cup qualifier will be held in Stellenbosch from 18 to the 24 February 2008, with all matches scheduled to start at 10:00.

Qualifier Competitions Pools:
Pool A: South Africa, The Netherlands, Bermuda, Papua New Guinea
Pool B: Ireland, Pakistan, Zimbabwe, Scotland

Saturday, 16 February:
Teams arrive at Cape Town International / Opening Ceremony

Sunday, 17 February: Practice Sessions

Monday, 18 February: Preliminary Round 1:
The Netherlands vs Papua New Guinea – Paul Roos Gymnasium
Bermuda vs South Africa – Stellenbosch University 2
Ireland vs Pakistan – Stellenbosch University 1
Zimbabwe vs Scotland – Van der Stel Cricket Club

Tuesday, 19 February: Preliminary Round 2:
South Africa vs Papua New Guinea – Van der Stel Cricket Club
The Netherlands vs Bermuda – Paul Roos Gymnasium
Ireland vs Scotland – Stellenbosch University 2
Pakistan vs Zimbabwe -Stellenbosch University 1

Wednesday, 20 February: Practice / Rest / Reserve Day

Thursday, 21 February: Preliminary Round 3:
South Africa vs The Netherlands – Stellenbosch University 1
Bermuda vs Papua New Guinea – Stellenbosch University 2
Pakistan vs Scotland – Van der Stel Cricket Club
Zimbabwe vs Ireland – Paul Roos Gymnasium

Friday 22 February: Semi-Finals:
Match 1: A1 vs B2 Stellenbosch University 1
Match 2 : A2 vs B1 Stellenbosch University 2
Match 3: A3 vs B4 Paul Roos Gymnasium
Match 4: A4 vs B3 Van der Stel Cricket Club

Saturday 23 February: Practice / Rest / Reserve Day

Sunday 24 February: Finals/Play-Offs:
Winner M1 vs Winner M2 – Stellenbosch University 1
Runner up M1 vs Runner up M2 – Stellenbosch University 2
Winner M3 vs Winner M4 – Van der Stel Cricket Club
Runner up M3 vs Runner up – Paul Roos Gymnasium

Share this article:

About the Author:

<a href="" target="_self">gsport Newsroom</a>

gsport Newsroom

Launched in 2006, gsport exists to enhance the commercial prospects of our women athletes, and other women in sport, by telling the inspiring story of SA women in sport. Thank you for your contribution!


Submit a Comment

Recent Posts

Recent Comments


Related Posts