It’s gsport Awards Time!

by | Jun 10, 2010

It’s back! The 5th Annual gsport Awards take place on 3 August 2010 at the prestigious Wanderers Club in Johannesburg. The gsport Awards celebrates the best of South African women and lauds the valuable contributions of individuals dedicated to the promotion of women in sport in South Africa.

The gsport Awards coincided with the launch of the gsport… for Girls! initiative in August 2006 and in the first year consisted of one award, the gsport Hall of Fame inductee. The inaugural winner was the one and only Penny Heyns and she delivered a stirring speech to a handful of women who gathered in the Sir Herbert Baker Suite at the Westcliff Hotel for cake and tea.

In 2007, gsport introduced the four Leading Ladies of the Year awards, gsport Volunteer of the Year award and the gsport Personal Account Writer award, and the event has grown in stature ever since.

“The calibre of winners since Penny Heyns has been phenomenal. There is no doubt this country has strong, talented individuals who are making their mark in the world of women’s sport and their careers in general.”

Information about the nominees for the 2010 gsport Awards will be published soon, at which stage you will be able to participate in internet voting to decide the finalists. Deciding on the winners is the task of the Elite Panel, where they will consider categories including the Woman of the Year Award, the Woman in Media, the Style Star, and the annual athlete of the year in the gSTAR Award.



2009 gsport Award Winners:

Hall of Fame: FIFA World Cup ambassador and former Banyana Banyana captain Desiree Ellis
Woman of the Year: South Africa’s first ever female boxing promote, Mbali Zantsi
Woman in Media: Producer of the Discovery Sports Centre on Metro FM Beverly Maphangwa
Style Star of the Year: Socialite and businesswoman Uyanda Mbuli
gSTAR of the Year: Women’s boxer Noni Tenge
Volunteer of the Year: KZN freelance writer and sports enthusiast Lunga Ntuli
Personal Account Writer of the Year: The first woman racer in the Wesbank Series Clare Vale

2008 gsport Award Winners:
Hall of Fame: Long distance running queen Elana Meyer
Woman of the Year: MD of MotorSport South Africa Beaulah Schoeman
Woman in Media: Television and Radio sports personality Renelle Naidoo
Style Star of the Year: Tanya van Graan
gSTAR of the Year: Kommetjie Surf Sensation Tarryn Chudleigh
Volunteer of the Year: Social networking enthusiast, Bronwyn Chudleigh
Personal Account Writer of the Year: Rising tennis umpire Mpho Makhoba

2007 gsport Award Winners:
Hall of Fame: 80s Netball phenomenon Hazel Gumede
Woman of the Year: Former Women’s Golf World Cup co-founder Lesley Copeman
Woman in Media: Veteran SABC Sport Executive Producer Melinda Lombard
Style Star of the Year: Sun Goddess owner Vanya Mangaliso
gSTAR of the Year: Banyana Banyana star Portia Modise
Volunteer of the Year: Cricket player and passionate promoter of women’s cricket, Ilse Langhout

2006 gsport Award winner:
The inaugural gsport Hall of Fame Award: International Swimming Icon Penny Heyns

Share this article:

About the Author:

<a href="" target="_self">gsport Newsroom</a>

gsport Newsroom

Launched in 2006, gsport exists to enhance the commercial prospects of our women athletes, and other women in sport, by telling the inspiring story of SA women in sport. Thank you for your contribution!


Submit a Comment

Recent Posts

Recent Comments


Related Posts

Vermaak Humbled by Telkom Woman of the Year Award
Vermaak Humbled by Telkom Woman of the Year Award

Telkom Woman of the Year, Anne Vermaak, leads Gymnastics South Africa to triple win on the Momentum gsport Awards and says she hopes the publicity generated will reach the hearts of all young South Africans who dream of reaching their goals. #gsport16 #SheOwnsHerSuccess