Momentum Proteas to Face India and West Indies in T20I Tri-Series in East London

As part of the final stages of preparation ahead of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2023 being held in South Africa in February next year, the Momentum Proteas will take on India and the West Indies in a Women’s T20 International (T20I) Tri-Series in East London between 19 January – 02 February 2023.

All matches will be played at the Buffalo Park Cricket Stadium in what will be a mouth-watering contest featuring World Cup hosts, South Africa, along with the 2016 T20 world champions in the Windies, and India, the runners-up of the 2020 Women’s T20 World Cup

The three teams will play two T20I encounters against each side in a battle for a place in the Tri-Series final, before the nations switch to World Cup mode with the tournament kicking off from 10 – 26 February in Cape Town, Paarl and Gqeberha.

South Africa’s T20 World Cup opponents in Group A include Sri Lanka, New Zealand as well as Bangladesh and five-time champions, Australia.

CSA Director of Cricket, Enoch Nkwe said: “With the eyes of the cricketing world set to converge on South Africa for the 2023 ICC Women’s T20 World Cup, we are pleased to welcome India and the West Indies to our shores as head coach Hilton Moreeng and the team complete their readiness for the global showpiece in February.

“These two sides are up there with the most talented and entertaining nations in women’s T20 cricket, having featured in two of the last four finals, with the West Indies lifting the trophy in 2016.

“This will give the Momentum Proteas a highly competitive build-up to the ultimate prize of the T20 World Cup.”

CSA Chief Executive, Pholetsi Moseki commented: “This is a very exciting time for cricket fans in South Africa. These seven T20 matches hosted at Buffalo Park in East London will provide an exciting opportunity for the public to witness the ladies in action once again, in their own backyard, as an appetizer for what’s to come a month later in Cape Town, Gqeberha and Paarl.

“On behalf of Cricket South Africa (CSA), I would like to extend my gratitude to the Board of Control for Cricket in India and Cricket West Indies for their collaboration in organizing the series at a critical stage of the season.”

Women’s T20I Tri-Series (South Africa, India, West Indies)
Thursday, 19 January 2023 – 19h00 SAST
1st Tri-Series T20I: South Africa vs India (Buffalo Park, East London)

Saturday, 21 January 2023 – 15h00 SAST
2nd Tri-Series T20I: South Africa vs West Indies (Buffalo Park, East London)

Monday, 23 January 2023 – 19h00 SAST
3rd Tri-Series T20I: India vs West Indies (Buffalo Park, East London)

Wednesday, 25 January 2023 – 15h00 SAST
4th Tri-Series T20I: South Africa vs West Indies (Buffalo Park, East London)

Saturday, 28 January 2023 – 19h00 SAST
5th Tri-Series T20I: South Africa vs India (Buffalo Park, East London)

Monday, 30 January 2023 – 15h00 SAST
6th Tri-Series T20I: West Indies vs India (Buffalo Park, East London)

Thursday, 02 February 2023 – 15h00 SAST
Tri-Series Final (Buffalo Park, East London)

Please Rate this Post

0 ratings, 0 votes0 ratings, 0 votes (0 rating, 0 votes, rated)
You need to be a registered member to rate this.

Recent Posts


Follow Us