Noko Matlou’s African Success Story

Banyana Banyana stalwart, Noko Matlou, the first South African player, male or female, to win the CAF African Footballer of the Year Award, speaks to Celine Abrahams about her achievements. She also chats about her plans to develop the next generation of female footballers on the continent.

Public Voting for the 2019 gsport Awards has Closed

Public Voting has closed for the 2019 gsport Awards, and now the results will be reviewed by the Awards auditors, who will confirm the overall winners to be announced in Johannesburg on Saturday, 31 August

Steyn to battle it out with Semenya and Kgatlana for gsport Crown

Gerda Steyn will battle it out with 800m World Champion, Caster Semenya, and CAF African Women’s Footballer of the Year, Thembi Kgatlana, for gsport Athlete of the Year as public voting kicks off from 19 July to 9 August, to determine the winners across 18 categories for the 2019 gsport Awards

#gsport10 Receives Over 300 Nominations

Nominations for the 10th gsport Awards have closed with an unprecedented public response to gsport’s call for nominations across 15 public categories, in a month-long process. (Click here to view […]

Nominations Open for 10th gsport Awards

Nominations are open for the 10th annual gsport Awards, South Africa’s longest running women’s sports Awards, launched in 2006 to raise the profile of South African women in sport, and significantly encourage Corporate SA to back female athletes.

Personal Account: Lights, Camera, Action!

These three words are synonymous with a glittering Hollywood studio production but at the SABC studios its goes something like, “We’re going live in 5.., 4.., 3.., .., ..!” and […]

Sports Journo Awards Update

SAB has started its call-for-entries through a national road show, which have been designed to provide an opportunity for people in the media to network with colleagues, meet the SAB […]