2019 gsport Awards Judges Unveiled!

The 2019 gsport Awards judging took place at SASCOC House in Johannesburg today as a newly formed elite judging panel cast their votes to select the shortlist for the 14th edition of the gsport Awards.

Veteran journalist and member of the South African National Editor’s Forum, Mary Papayya, led a formidable panel, including SABC TV News Deputy Sports Editor and SAFM Sports Anchor, Janet Whitton, President of South African Schools Netball, Di Woolley, South African Hockey Vice President and SASCOC Board Member, Lwandile Simelane, and women’s representative at Sport, Arts and Culture, Nonkongozelo Ndiki.

What did the judge’s think of the 2019 gsport Awards Nominees?

“The nominees have been of exceptional quality. It is an honour to be part of a competition that mainstreams the success of women in sport. It is a critical platform to empower a future generation of female athletes,” Mary Papayya of the SA National Editor’s Forum, SANEF.

“It’s such an honour to be part of a program that gives value to women and their achievements,” agreed SABC TV News Deputy Sports Editor,Janet Whitton.

“Respect and recognition are such an important part of developing athletes and the women they can be. There are some remarkable people on the lists, and I hope they get more support in their endeavours in the future.”

“Nominations were phenomenal,” said Di Woolley, President of SA Schools Netball. “Well done to you all! I am humbled and privileged to be part of this process.”

“To be honest, it is quite a difficult task to choose the best out of the nominated athletes,” said Nonkongozelo Ndiki – Women’s Representative at Sport, Arts and Culture, “Because they all have achieved or made a mark in their sport careers. The quality is rich in all the nominees, hence it’s quite a difficult task to choose the best of the best out of the list of the nominees.”

“What an exciting experience to be part of this year’s judging panel. gsport is a fundamental part of the women’s sorority in sports, and I’m honoured to be a part of this panel,” said Lwandile Simelane – South African Hockey Vice-President and Board Member of South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee.

“The nominees are indicative of the excellence and excitement of female sports that defines women’s sports in our country. Womandla to all nominees.”

Who are the Judges?

Media veteran, Mary Papayya is a member of the South African National Editor’s Forum council (SANEF), and her past work includes serving as executive Director of Papayya Media, official KZN Ground Partner for the University of Witwatersrand and Wits Commercial Enterprise and Wits Business School Partner. She has also worked for East Coast Radio, Tiso Blackstar (formally known as Times Media Group) and the World Association of Newspaper.

SABC News Department Sports Editor and SAFM Sports Anchor, Janet Whitton will be joining Papayya on the Judge’s panel.

Regarded as the mother of South African Schools Netball, Di Woolley has gone above and beyond to ensure the growth in the school’s netball reaches for the stars. We look forward to having her vast experience in concluding this year’s nominations.

Sports and Recreation South Africa’s Nonkongozelo Ndiki has been an activist for gender equality in the country and her vision fits that of gsport’s when it comes to lifting women’s sport in Mzansi and it is an absolute honour that she joins the judging panel.

South African Hockey Vice-President and Board Member of South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee, Lwandile Simelane has played an important role in developing hockey in South Africa and continuously fighting to better the lives of those who have the hunger to excel in this category.

What did the Judges Do?

The judges gathered together at SASCOC House in Johannesburg in person to consider the merits of all Nominees before making a private and independent assessment of the relative strength of each Nominee, based on the information contained in the nominations received, and subsequently received by gsport in its attempts to gain additional information.

What happens now?

Finalists will be announced in exactly a week’s time after resulted are confirmed by the auditors, and the gsport Voting Hall opens at the gsport.co.za website on 19 July. Visitors will be able to login using their existing membership details, or have the option of creating a new account, to allow them to vote.

How Does Voting Work?

A simple daily login at the gsport.co.za website and cast a vote is the simplest part of the whole process, this is where supporters will be allowed to vote for their favourite Finalists each day after registering a free membership at gsport, and maybe even ensure that their candidates is called up on stage on Saturday 31 August, when the 2019 gsport Awards winners are unveiled.


Key Dates:
19 July: #gsport14 Finalists announced, 3-Week Public Voting opens
9 August: Public voting closes
31 August: Winners unveiled at the 2019 gsport Awards


Photo 1 Caption: The elite Judging Panel for the 2019 gsport Awards, (from left) Di Woolley (Independent), Nonkongozelo Ndiki (SRSA), Mary Papayya (SANEF), Janet Whitton (Independent) and Lwandile Simelane (SASCOC), pictured ahead of judging at SASCOC House in Johannesburg, on Friday, 12 July, 2019. Photo: gsport

Photo 2 Caption: The day of intense judging underway, and the Judges expressed their satisfaction at the quality of nominations available for their consideration. Photo: gsport

Photo 3 Caption: The proceedings were overseen by Monalisa Nkonki, Director of Sondlo Chartered Accountants, and her colleague, Babalwa Vakele, who will also be auditing the online voting at the gsport website, which will determine the identity of the final winner in each Award. Photo: gsport


Please Rate this Post

0 ratings, 0 votes0 ratings, 0 votes (0 rating, 0 votes, rated)
You need to be a registered member to rate this.

About the Author:

gsport Newsroom

gsport Newsroom

Launched in 2006, gsport exists to enhance the commercial prospects of our women athletes, and other women in sport, by telling the inspiring story of SA women in sport. Thank you for your contribution!

Recent Posts


Follow Us