Cricket Squad for WC Qualifiers

by | Jan 20, 2008

The convenor
of the national selection panel, Geraldine Smith today announced South Africa’s
Women’s squad which will participate in the ICC Women’s World Cup qualifier in
Stellenbosch from 18 – 24 February, 2008.

This tournament
was to have been held in Pakistan
in November last year but it was switched to South Africa because of security

"Playing on
home soil will give the girls some advantage but it will at the same time put
pressure on them," said the convenor.

"They are a
balanced team and I am confident that they will qualify with great

Noor Rhode,
the National Women’s mentor is elated that the postponement could have afforded
his squad ample time to prepare.

"With the
smooth running of the provincial league programme, the players were able to
spend valuable time in the middle. And I am satisfied with the build-up to

Cri-Zelda Brits (captain) – Northerns
Claire Terblanche (vice-captain) – Boland
Olivia Anderson – Western
Susanna Benade – Free State
Trisha Chetty – KwaZulu-Natal
Dinesha Devnarain – KwaZulu-Natal
Mignon du Preez – Northerns
Shandre Fritz – Western
Ashlyn Kilowan – Western
10. Matshipi
Letsoalo – Northerns
11. Sunette
Loubser – Boland
12. Analie
Minny – Free State
13. Alicia
Smith – Boland
Magdalena Terblanche – Gauteng
Zola Thamae
Noor Rhode
(Head coach)
Kim Price
(Assistant Coach)
Marshall (Video Analyst)
Claire Cowan

The squad
will set up a training camp in Stellenbosch from 13 February.

Share this article:

About the Author:

<a href="" target="_self">Kass Naidoo</a>

Kass Naidoo

Passionate sports broadcaster and founder of gsport4girls


Submit a Comment

Recent Posts

Recent Comments


Related Posts

Cricket Calls Top Players to Camp in Potch
Cricket Calls Top Players to Camp in Potch

The Cricket South Africa (CSA) national women’s camp is underway at Senwes Park in Potchefstroom. Physical conditioning and a lot of cricket are on the cards for the Momentum Proteas at the...