Kgothatso Montjane Leads Team SA Paralympic Squad

by | Aug 15, 2021

Wheelchair tennis champion, Kgothatso Montjane, leads Team South Africa’s Tokyo 2020 Paralympic squad, which also includes two-time gold medallist, Zanele Situ.

The squad was announced on Saturday, 14 August 2021 live on SABC 3 and compromises of 13 female athletes.

“Wimbledon was a confidence boost and I’m looking forward to Tokyo,” said Montjane, who will be making her fourth appearance at the Games.

The world no.6 is determined to come back with a medal: “I’ve always said in Tokyo I just want to aim for a medal – it doesn’t matter which colour – and after my performance at Wimbledon I don’t see why it’s not attainable,” she added.

Another wheelchair tennis star to look out for is Mariska Venter who will be making her Paralympic debut after receiving a wild card entry from the International Tennis Federation (ITF).

“I’ve worked hard for this for the last seven years,” said Venter, who was delighted to be selected after missing the cut for the 2016 Rio Games.

The world no.35 went on to express her excitement about her participation at the Games: “I’m so grateful to have the opportunity to gain this experience on the biggest stage. It’s a dream come true, and I can’t wait to live the dream,” she added.

Katherine Swanepoel swam into her Paralympic qualification earlier this year at the South African National Aquatic Championships by setting a new South African Record time in the multi-disability section.

Zanele Situ who was the first black South African Female to win a Gold medal at the 2000 Sydney Paralympics will be making her sixth appearance at the tender age of 50.


SA Paralympic Squad:

Para Athletics:
Anruné Weyers
Sheryl James
Simoné Kruger
Ntombizanele Situ
Louzanne Coetzee
Johanna Pretorius
Liezel Gouws
Cornelia (Lappies) Swanepoel
Suzanne Ferreira
Daniel Damon
Cathy Lansberg
Claus Kempen
Erasmus Badenhorst

Para Cycling:
Toni Mould
Elrick Kulsen
Pieter Jansen
Gillian Evans
Walter Lutch

Para Equestrian:
Philippa Johnson-Dwyer
Cayla van der Walt
Ingeborg Sanne
Chris Hazen
Robyn van Lijsdonk
Trisha Bell

Para Swimming:
Katherine Swanepoel
Alani Ferreira
Theo Verster
Keith Jansen

Wheelchair Tennis:
Kgothatso Montjane
Mariska Venter
Gerald Stoffberg
Saidi Moruame


Photo Caption: Wheelchair tennis champion, Kg Montjane, leads Team South Africa’s Tokyo 2020 Paralympic squad, which also includes two-time gold medallist, Zanele Situ. Photo: Tennis SA (Twitter)


Share this article:

About the Author:

Recent Posts

Recent Comments


Related Posts