Olympic Qualifier Team Announced

by | Jun 27, 2007

The South African National Hockey Team which participated in Stellenbosch’s January International Festival of Hockey.
There were no surprises in the selection of the SPAR South African Women’s Hockey Team for the upcoming African Olympic Games qualifier, which is largely unchanged after reaching the final of the Four Nations Tournament in Ireland recently.

The South African squad stayed on in Dublin for two more tests against Ireland after losing the Four Nations final to a deserving Germany, of which the first was drawn 1-all, with South Africa winning the second 3-1.
Most of the players selected for the qualifiers planned for Nairobi, in Kenya from July 14 to 22, also took part in the Festival of Hockey in Stellenbosch, during January.
The team presents a balance between youth and experience, with captain Marsha Marescia able to call on the experience of players like vice captain Jen Wilson, Kate Hector, Sharne Bailey (nee Wehmeyer) and Tarryn Bright.
The only change is the addition of newcomer Ilse Davids in place of Kim Hubach, and South Africa are favourites to finish tops in the Olympic Qualifier also featuring Ghana, Kenya, Namibia, Nigeria and Zimbabwe.
Convener of Selectors Adele Madsen says it is important to win the tournament convincingly, as they have to convince the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) that the women’s hockey team will be a truly competitive unit at the Olympic Games in Beijing in August 2008.
“We don’t just want to squeak in,” said Madsen. “It’s about making a statement, and making sure that we are real contenders in Beijing.”
Good news for the team is that they have been invited to take part in a four-nations tournament also featuring Australia, China and Argentina in Beijing from August 6 to 13.
South Africa will hope to repeat their performance in a similar tournament in Athens during 2004, when they beat mighty Australia in the final.
Planned as part of China’s preparations for the Olympic Games next year, the tournament will be played at the Olympic Stadium, and will be used to test out the hockey facilities, including the fields, lights and watering systems.
President of the South African Hockey Association Dave Carr says it is an honour for South Africa to be invited to the tournament, considering the available pool of highly-rated teams.

The SPAR South African team:
Sharne Bailey
Tarryn Bright
Cindy Brown
Ilse Davids
Lisa Deetlifs
Henna du Buisson
Lesley-Ann George
Kate Hector
Taryn Hosking
Sanani Mangisa
Lenise Marais
Marsha Marescia (captain)
Mariette Rix
Shelley Russell
Vidette Ryan
Vida Ryan
Kathleen Taylor
Jen Wilson (vice-captain) 

Share this article:

About the Author:

<a href="https://gsport.co.za/members/gsport_newsroom/" target="_self">gsport Newsroom</a>

gsport Newsroom

Launched in 2006, gsport exists to enhance the commercial prospects of our women athletes, and other women in sport, by telling the inspiring story of SA women in sport. Thank you for your contribution!

Recent Posts

Recent Comments


Related Posts

SA Indoor Hockey Squad for 2022 FIH World Cup Announced
SA Indoor Hockey Squad for 2022 FIH World Cup Announced

Incoming SA Indoor Women’s Hockey team captain Jess O’Connor is highly regarded to take charge of a settled team featuring a few promising debutants in a golden opportunity to participate in the FIH Indoor Hockey World Cup 2022 in Belgium #GoGirls #gsportGlobal