Windies Force ODI Series Draw in Dominica

by | Jan 16, 2013

Cricket SA logoThe West Indies stubbornly stuck to their guns in the fifth and final Women’s One Day International (ODI), beating South Africa by a comfortable 22 runs in Dominica on Tuesday.

Stafanie Taylor and Shemaine Campbelle shared a 117-run partnership for the second wicket, setting up a 177-run chase that allowed the hosts to square the series with a two-all draw.

Taylor was once again the in-form player, scoring 76 off 107 balls to help her side to a competitive 177/8 in their 50 overs after they were asked to bat first by the visitors. Campbelle also provided a damaging 47-run contribution before her innings was halted by Chloe Tryon (2/28).

Apart from Tryon, the only other bowler to take a significant number of scalps was leading wicket taker, Dané van Niekerk, who took a crucial 3/31 while the rest of the attack found it difficult to penetrate the obstinate Taylor-Campbelle partnership, and West Indian line up in general.

The batters were good at forming consistent and useful partnerships throughout the innings to get their end result.

In reply, South Africa once again lost two wickets in moderately quick succession.

Trisha Chetty (9) failed to score runs as Taylor (1/26) struck with the ball, ending her 22-run opening partnership with SA new cap Savannah Cordes in the first ball of the sixth over. Cordes followed 12 balls later, run out for 11 off the bowling of Shaquana Quintyne (2/34).

Captain, Mignon du Preez (25) and Marizanne Kapp (40) put up a good fight, sharing a 43-run partnership before Quintyne had du Preez trapped lbw in the 18th over. Cri-Zelda Brits added 35 essential runs before she was run out, by Windies captain, Merissa Aguillera.

The rest of the middle order and tail were not given the opportunity to contribute much towards their team’s bottom-line as the hosts kept the pressure up.

The only exception was number eight batter, Tryon, who managed 14 runs before Campbelle and Taylor formed another partnership to remove her, leaving South Africa on 142/8 after 42.3 overs.

Two ducks from Sunette Loubser and Dinesha Devnarain did not help matters as the visitors were skittled out for 155 runs off 46.3 overs.

West Indies opening batsman and bowler Stafanie Taylor was deservedly acknowledged as Player of the Match, and Player of the Series awards, for her decisive contributions to the series.

The teams will meet in a two-match T20 series on Saturday, 19 and Sunday 20 January to cap off the tour.


West Indies v South Africa One Day International Series Results:
Jan 7, 2013: WI v SA at Basseterre: SA won by 80 runs
Jan 9, 2013: WI v SA at Basseterre: SA won by 4 wickets
Jan 12, 2013: WI v SA at Roseau: WI won by 8 wickets (with 124 balls remaining)
Jan 13, 2013: WI v SA at Roseau: No result (match rained out)
Jan 15, 2013: WI v SA at Roseau: WI won by 22 runs
South Africa:
Shandré Fritz
Trisha Chetty (Keeper)
Mignon du Preez (Captain (Keeper)
Marizanne Kapp
Susanna Benade
Cri-Zelda Brits
Dané van Niekerk
Yolandi Potgieter
Chloe Tryon
Sunette Loubser
Marcia Letsoalo
Dinesha Devnarain
West Indies:
Merissa Aguilleira (Captain) (Keeper)
Stafanie Taylor
Shemaine Campbelle
Shanel Daley
Deandra Dottin
Kycia Knight
Anisa Mohammed
Juliana Nero
Shaquana Quintyne
Shakera Selman
Tremayne Smartt


Share this article:

About the Author:

<a href="" target="_self">gsport Contributor</a>

gsport Contributor

This account is used to publish material provided to gsport by various third parties. While gsport ensures best endeavours to ensure that contributors have standing and that their contributions are relevant and legitimate, gsport's standard limitations in respect of third-party content apply.


Submit a Comment

Recent Posts

Recent Comments


Related Posts

Dané van Niekerk Named 2021 gsport Newsmaker of the Year
Dané van Niekerk Named 2021 gsport Newsmaker of the Year

Inspirational Momentum Proteas captain and leader of the Oval Invincibles, Dané van Niekerk has been announced as gsport Newsmaker of the Year as a stellar gsport Annual List of recipients is unveiled in Johannesburg @Momentum_za TelkomZA @ArtsCulture @Brand_SA @MailandGuardian #NielsenSports
#GAL2021 #GoGirls