WSL T20 Teams Select Their Draft Picks

The virtual studio for the draft of the four teams competing in the third edition of Cricket South Africa's Women Super League T20 tournament. Photo: Supplied

The complete squad list of the third edition of the Women Super League T20 has finally come out after the team coaches made their selection in the Cricket South Africa virtual draft pick and it consists of some of the exciting names in the women’s T20 game.

The squads for the four teams competing in the T20 league have been decided after the draft that took place without players, guests, and media. Coaches of the respective teams announced their draft picks live on the CSA Youtube channel.

The draft consisted of 13 rounds with captains already being determined way ahead of the draft with Nadine de Klerk (Coronation), Sune Luus (Duchesses), Chloe Tryon (Starlights) and Tumi Sekhukhune (Thistles).

The Coronation, who had the first pick went with the exciting Laura Wolvaardt. Duchesses went second and snapped up Momentum Proteas top order Mignon du Preez while Starlights went third and roped in another Protea in opener Lizelle Lee while Thistles opted for speedster Shabnim Ismail to conclude the second round of the WSL T20 player draft.

The dynamic bowling duo of Ayabonga Khaka and Nonkululeko Mlaba will play for Coronation while the Thistles will have the all-round talents of Trisha Chetty and Anneke Bosch to go along with Eliz-Mari Marx at the middle of the order.

Young duo of Faye Tunnicliffe and Robyn Searle will form an explosive opening partnership for the Duchesses, who also have, Sinalo Jafta, Micheala Andrews and left-arm seamer Gabisile Nkosi in their ranks.

Starlights who are under the tutelage of Claire Terblanche will have some of the finest T20 players in Lara Goodall and Masabata Klaas in their ranks. Aside from that, they will also have the all-round talents of Nondumiso Shangase and Tatum Le Roux.

The Momentum Protea duo of Dane van Niekerk and Marizanne Kapp had to pull out of the draft due to injury. The four-team tournament begins on December 14 and ends on December 16 with all matches taking place at the Six Gun Grill Newlands Grounds.


Women’s Super League Virtual Draw, on 3 December 2021:


Nadine de Klerk (c)
Laura Wolvaardt
Ayabonga Khaka
Nonkululeku Mlaba
Verunissa Reddy
Madison Landman
Tazmin Brits
Zintle Kula
Kirsty Thompson
Kgomotso Rapoo
Jane Winster
Izelle Cilliers
Raisibe Ntozakhe
Adele van Eck (Head Coach)
Shaun Pretorius (Assistant Coach)


Sune Luus (c)
Mignon du Preez
Sinalo Jafta
Zintle Mali
Delmi Tucker
Faye Tunnicliffe
Micheala Andrews
Michaela Kirk
Nkosi Gabsile
Robyn Searle
Gandhi Jafta
Alyssa Elxlebben
Monalisa Legodi
Martelize van der Merwe (Head Coach)
Mark Arthur (Assistant Coach) 


Chloe Tryon (c)
Lizelle Lee
Masabata Klaas
Andrie Steyn
Lara Goodall
Leah Jones
Nondumiso Shangase
Evodia Yekile
Anri Grobbelaar
Tatum le Roux
Annemarie Dercksen
Christine Tomlinson
Khushi Mistry
Claire Terblanche (Head Coach)
Neo Sekokotla (Assistant Coach)


Tumi Sekhukune (c)
Shabnim Ismail
Trisha Chetty
Anneke Bosch
Eliz-Mari Marx
Nonkululeko Thabethe
Jade de Fiquerido
Nobulumko Baneti
Moseline Daniels
Nadia Mbokotwana
Khayakazi Mathe
Alexandra Candler
Courtney Gouden
Angelique Taai (Head Coach)
Richard Hlela (Assistant Coach)


Photo Caption: The virtual studio for the draft of the four teams competing in the third edition of Cricket South Africa’s Women Super League T20 tournament. Photo: Supplied


With editing by gsport

Please Rate this Post

0 ratings, 0 votes0 ratings, 0 votes (0 rating, 0 votes, rated)
You need to be a registered member to rate this.

Recent Posts


Follow Us