Big Guns Headline gsport Awards Short List

by | Nov 5, 2012

The esteemed judges have unveiled the finalists in each category for the 2012 SPAR gsport Awards, and friends, fans and family of the 2012 SPAR gsport Awards finalists are urged to organise wide support for their candidates, to give them every chance of being honoured this year. Pictured are the 2011 gsport Award winners with (from left) are gsport Founder, Kass Naidoo; Tasha Mentasti (representing Surfing SA for the 2011 Sports Federation of the Year Award); 2011 gsport Volunteer Award recipient, Masalang Mshayisa; 2011 gSTAR, test goals world record holder Pietie Coetzee; Style Star winner, Shashi Naidoo; the 2011 Hall of Fame inductee, Dorothy Tsotsobe; Woman in Media winner, Melissa Reddy; 2011 Woman of the Year Award winner, and visual performance guru, Dr. Sherylle Calder; Big Five sponsor representative, Helena Melis; and Belinda Nel, Sponsorship Manager for SPAR, receiving the inaugural gsport Sponsor of the Year Award; at the Wanderers Club in Illovo, Johannesburg, on Monday, 1 August, 2011. Photo: Reg Caldecott/gsport4girls

Two Olympic medallists, South Africa’s most capped athlete, its most celebrated Paralympian, and a Pole Fitness Champion have made the cut for the 2012 SPAR gsport Awards, after more than 100 nominations were received across the various categories in a month-long public nominations process.

“The list of nominees is unbelievable. I am really excited to see who’s going to win,” said Belinda Nel, SPAR Sponsorship Manager. “It will be really difficult to choose because athletes from different fields have done very well. The nominees are very strong across the board.”

gsport4girls Founder, Kass Naidoo, was equally impressed, “The decision to appoint top-quality Ambassadors to drive the search for public nominations has been vindicated by the quality of the nominees forwarded to gsport.

“With free public voting due to start at the gsport website on Wednesday, friends, fans and family of the 2012 SPAR gsport Awards finalists are urged to organise wide support for their candidates, to give them every chance of being honoured this year.”

The list was trimmed to top three nominees per category by the Awards judges, world leader in Visual Performance Dr. Sherylle Calder, veteran sports journalist Jane Bramley, eighties netball phenomenon Hazel Gumede and businesswoman and socialite Uyanda Mbuli.

Olympic silver medallist Caster Semenya, bronze medallist Bridgitte Hartley and South Africa’s most capped athlete Marsha Marescia headline the SPAR Athlete of the Year category, which was heavily contested with 10 athletes up for nomination.

Fittingly, as if in deference to her unrivalled contribution to awareness of sport with disability, Natalie du Toit – who recently announced her retirement from competition after another clutch of Paralympic haul of medals at London 2012, is the only individual nominated in two categories.

She is up for the gsport Woman of the Year title along with Pole Fitness Champion Venessa Clack and 70-year-old Sue Pather, who has dedicated her time to promotion of women’s cricket.

Du Toit is also nominated for Athlete of the Year with a Disability, along with SA’s number-one wheelchair tennis player, Kgothatso Montjane, and Paralympic gold and silver medalling track and field athlete, Ilse Carstens.

Rising stars, track athlete Thato Makhafola, KwaZulu-Natal cyclist Lauren Varty and chess champion, Tasnim Amra, will contest the Up and Coming Athlete of the Year category.

Woman in Media was another hotly contested category, with 12 women nominated for the award. Radio cricket commentator Natalie Germanos, football anchor Carol Tshabalala and rugby writer Tarryn Steenekamp got the nod from judge Jane Bramley.

South Africa’s women’s national teams have done well in improving their international statuses in 2012, and this is evident in the gsport Coach of the Year category, where SPAR Proteas netball coach Elize Kotze faces stern competition in two other national coaches, Proteas cricket coach Yashin Ebrahim and Banyana Banyana coach, Joseph Mkhonza.

Top Billing presenter and Audi Ambassador, Jo-Ann Strauss, V Entertainment host Lalla Hirayama, and award-winning R&B singer LeAnne Dlamini have been shortlisted for gsport Style Star of the Year, which recognises women who exude style, elegance, and beauty, whatever they do.

The gsport Volunteer of the Year category will be contested by football administrator Faiek Cassiem, all round sports enthusiast Anela Mahamba and Cycling volunteer Anelda Swart. The gsport Volunteer of the Year is the only category that is not open to public voting. The judges will pick the winner.

A final word in thanks to the 2012 SPAR gsport Award Ambassadors, Roxy Burger, Mpho Maboi, Anele Mdoda, Shashi Naidoo, Hulisani Ravele and Liezel van der Westhuizen, for driving the nominations.


2012 SPAR gsport Awards Finalists:
SPAR Athlete of the Year:
Bridgitte Hartley
Marsha Marescia
Caster Semenya
Athlete of the Year with Disability:
Ilse Hayes (Carstens)
Natalie du Toit
Kgothatso Montjane
Up and Coming Athlete of the Year:
Tasnim Amra
Thato Makhafola
Lauren Varty
Coach of the Year:
Elize Kotze
Yashin Ebrahim
Joseph Mkhonza
Woman in Media:
Natalie Germanos
Tarryn Steenekamp
Carol Tshabalala
Style Star of the Year:
LeAnne Dlamini
Lalla Hirayama
Jo-Ann Strauss
Woman of the Year:
Venessa Clack
Natalie du Toit
Sue Pather
Volunteer of the Year:
Anela Mahamba
Faiek Cassiem
Anelda Swart


Share this article:

About the Author:

<a href="" target="_self">gsport Newsroom</a>

gsport Newsroom

Launched in 2006, gsport exists to enhance the commercial prospects of our women athletes, and other women in sport, by telling the inspiring story of SA women in sport. Thank you for your contribution!


Submit a Comment

Recent Posts

Recent Comments


Related Posts

Vermaak Humbled by Telkom Woman of the Year Award
Vermaak Humbled by Telkom Woman of the Year Award

Telkom Woman of the Year, Anne Vermaak, leads Gymnastics South Africa to triple win on the Momentum gsport Awards and says she hopes the publicity generated will reach the hearts of all young South Africans who dream of reaching their goals. #gsport16 #SheOwnsHerSuccess