Proteas Women Attract New Sponsorship in Momentum

The Proteas Women’s cricket team, currently on tour in New Zealand, and fresh off victory in the third T20I in Hamilton this morning, have been boosted by news that Cricket South Africa has secured Momentum as the new women’s cricket sponsor.

The eagerly-awaited announcement was made by Cricket South Africa during the innings break of the men’s Proteas Pink ODI against England at the Wanderers Stadium on Sunday.

The naming rights sponsorship announcement comes just days before the start of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Australia 2020, where the Proteas women will fancy their chances of lifting the trophy for the first time ever.

It has been a fruitful seven years for women’s cricket in South Africa, since Momentum were instrumental in the professional contracts first awarded back in 2013.

The team will hope this sponsorship spurs them on to new heights as they look to battle it out with the best in the world.


South Africa Fixtures at the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Australia 2020:
Warm Up: Sun 16 Feb: Sri Lanka vs South Africa (Karen Rolton Oval, Adelaide)
Warm Up: Tue 18 Feb: Australia vs South Africa (Karen Rolton Oval, Adelaide)
Sun 23 Feb: England vs South Africa (WACA, Perth)
Fri 28 Feb: South Africa vs Thailand (Manuka Oval, Canberra)
Sun 1 Mar: South Africa vs Pakistan (Sydney Showground, Sydney)
Tue 3 Mar: West Indies vs South Africa (Sydney Showground, Sydney)


The Momentum Proteas Women T20 Squad for the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Australia 2020:
Dané van Niekerk (Eastern Province)
Laura Wolvaardt (Western Province)
Lizelle Lee (North West)
Mignon du Preez (Northerns)
Marizanne Kapp (Eastern Province)
Sune Luus (Northerns)
Chloe Tryon (Vice-Captain) (KZN Coastal)
Shabnim Ismail (KZN Coastal)
Ayabonga Khaka (Gauteng)
Masabata Klaas (North West)
Tumi Sekhukhune (North West)
Trisha Chetty (KZN Coastal)
Nonkululeko Mlaba (KZN Coastal)
Nadine de Klerk (Western Province)
Nondumiso Shangase (KZN Coastal)


Photo 1 caption: The Proteas Women cricket squad are pictured on their announcement at the Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg on 13 January, ahead of flying to the away ODI and T20I series currently being contested in New Zealand. The ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Australia 2020 starts between hosts Australia and India in Sydney on 21 February, and South Africa face their first World Cup opponents England at the WACA in Perth on Sunday, 23 February. Photo: gsport

Please Rate this Post

0 ratings, 0 votes0 ratings, 0 votes (0 rating, 0 votes, rated)
You need to be a registered member to rate this.

About the Author:

gsport Newsroom

gsport Newsroom

Launched in 2006, gsport exists to enhance the commercial prospects of our women athletes, and other women in sport, by telling the inspiring story of SA women in sport. Thank you for your contribution!

Recent Posts


Follow Us