Voting Closed after Ground-Breaking Public Response to #gsport16

by | Aug 14, 2021

The 2021 Momentum gsport Awards Public Voting campaign attracted interest from far and wide as 60 finalists tightly contested across 20 categories. Public Voting for #gsport closed midnight on Thursday, 12 August 2021.

The votes are currently being tallied and audited by independent auditors to ensure a free and fair process.

The public votes make up 20-percent of the finalists’ overall mark, with the remaining 80-percent under the adjudication of the seven-member judging panel.

Aside from the opportunity to win in each category, the individual who receives the most public votes, but does not go on to win the main prize, will win the Public Choice award.

The voting period was supported by a strong media drive and social media fanfare, giving all finalists an opportunity to garner support and showcase their excellent achievements of the year.

The 16th edition of the longest-running women’s sport awards in South Africa will celebrate Rural, African and Global women’s sport success as the platform continues to grow its footprint worldwide.

The award winners will be announced on Tuesday, 31 August, during a virtual awards presentation premiered on SuperSport Variety 4.


The 2021 Momentum gsport Awards Judging Panel:

Amy Daley – Nielsen Sports South Africa Client Services Manager
Cynthia Tshaka – Renowned sports broadcaster, former gsport Special Recognition award winner
Marsha Cox – Former SA women’s hockey captain, former gsport Special Recognition winner
Mary Papayya – South African National Editors Forum Representative
Nthangeni Tshivhase – Department of Sport, Arts and Culture Co-ordinator
Ntombi Mhangwani – Accenture Africa Women’s Forum Lead
Tatenda Gondo – Seasoned African sports journalist


Photo Caption: A staggering amount of votes were submitted during public voting for Finalists in the 2021 Momentum gsport Awards. In this file photo, life-long netball activist and pioneer, Dudu Msane – who was unveiled as the 2020 gsport Hall of Fame inductee one short year ago – is pictured handing over her phone ahead of the recording of last year’s Momentum gsport Awards. Photo: Nokuthula Mbatha /  gsport


Share this article:

About the Author:

Recent Posts

Recent Comments


Related Posts