gsport Awards

Previous gsport Awards

The 2019 Momentum gsport Awards

Momentum ambassador, Ministerial recipient and Woman of the Year at the gsport Awards, Saray Khumalo, has reached incredible heights in her career, but her journey to the top has seen her endure many difficulties.

The 2018 gsport Awards

It’s usually a rush to push out as much gsport Awards red carpet coverage as soon as possible, but that was not the case this year. There was something different in the air.

The 2017 gsport Awards

Treble World Champion, Caster Semenya, bagged her third gsport Awards title when she was crowned gsport Athlete of the Year at the 12th edition of the country’s longest running women’s sport Awards.

The 2016 Spar gsport Awards

Rio Olympic gold medallist, Caster Semenya, has been crowned Athlete of the Year at the SPAR gsport Awards, as the class of 2016 winners were revealed at The Venue in Melrose Arch on Saturday night.

The 2015 Spar gsport Awards

Caroline Wostmann, who made history by becoming the fourth athlete ever to win the Two Oceans Marathon and the Comrades Marathon in the same year, has walked away with top honours at the 2015 SPAR gsport Awards.

The 2014 Spar gsport Awards

It is always interesting to see women who can balance between sport and being feminine. Zanele Mdodana walked away with Style Star Award at the ninth edition of the gsport Awards. Mdodana is a South African netball veteran and now an analyst on Supersport.

The 2013 Spar gsport Awards

The momentum that the gsport Awards are moving in is simply amazing considering that this is the 8th year of this prestigious event. The Sponsor of the Year award went to Momentum South Africa for the work that they do in promoting women’s cricket.

The 2012 Spar gsport Awards

One can compare speed at which the gsport Awards is growing in is almost the same as Caster Semenya’s who won the 2012 SPAR gsport Athlete of the Year award. Semenya is the South African Olympic’s silver medalist winner.

The 2011 gsport Awards

Yet another edition of the gsport awards proved women are working harder in this male dominated industry. Mellisa Reddy walked away with the Woman in Media award, for the amazing work she had done in sports broadcasting.

The 2010 gsport Awards

Showing massive growth in a space of just five years, the fifth annual gsport awards saw Sandy Flanagan walking away with the Sport Woman of the Year award. Flanagan is passionate about promoting women’s cricket.

The 2009 gsport Awards

Re-affirming the notion that women in sports also recognise class and style, Uyanda Mbuli walked away with the gsport Style Star award at the fourth annual gsport awards. Mbuli is one of Mzansi’s top style icons.

The 2008 gsport Awards

Seeing the growth of women in sports, the third annual gsport4irls awards honored Elana Meyer who became the gsport Hall of Fame inductee. Meyer is a former South African long distance runner who won a silver medal at the 1992 Summer Olympics.

The 2007 gsport Awards

No longer the new kid on the block, the second annual gsport awards showed its continued dedication to honouring deserving sports women, as Portia Modise walked away with the inaugural gsport Athlete of the Year Award on the day.

The Inaugural gsport Awards

The first of its kind, created solely to celebrate and promote women in sports, 1 August 2006 saw the birth of the gsport4girls awards at the Westcliff Hotel in Johannesburg, when 20 leading women in sport gathered to mark the occasion.