Zimbabwe and Uganda Book Africa’s Two ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifier Spots

Zimbabwe and Uganda have both qualified for the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifiers after beating Namibia and Tanzania respectively in the semi-finals of the Africa Qualifiers at the Entebbe Cricket Oval in Entebbe, Uganda, on Saturday 16 December, 2023.

The two teams played to winning results in the Africa Qualifier that kicked off on 9 December in the Lake Victoria district in Central Uganda, to determine the holders of two Global Qualifier berths for the Women’s T20  tournament in Bangladesh later in 2024.

The two teams still have a lot to play for as the final of the African qualifiers looms, and Zimbabwe may be considered as heading into Sunday’s final carrying the favourites tag after finishing at the top of the Group A log with a powerful net run rate of +3.524 for a full six points in their three encounters.

Namibia take on Tanzania in Sunday’s early bronze medal playoff fixture, while play in the gold medal final between Zimbabwe and Uganda will be underway at 12h50 CAT. 

On Saturday, ICC Full Members Zimbabwe defeated Namibia to earn a place in the global competition slated for February 2024 in Dubai after the Capricorn Eagles won the toss and chose to send the Lady Chevrons to bat first, on which decision the Zimbabweans built a winning total of 150/6 to win by 86 runs.

In the second semi-final Uganda – who lost the toss and batted first – defeated Tanzania by 10 runs at Entebbe Cricket Oval. The Victoria Pearls set a total of 99 runs in their allotted 20 overs, but Tanzania were unable to chase that total down. 

The Africa qualifiers saw eight teams split into two groups of four, the top two teams progressed to the semi-finals, with the winners of each semi-final securing their global qualifier spot.

In Dubai next year, ten teams will compete for two spots in the upcoming T20 World Cup in Bangladesh in September and October, 2024. It will be the first time two African nations participate in the T20 World Cup Qualifiers. The ten Global qualified teams are Ireland, Sir Lanka, Thailand, UAE, Vanuatu, USA, Netherlands, Scotland, Zimbabwe and Uganda. 

Meanwhile, the top six teams – Australia, South Africa, England, India, New Zealand and the West Indies at the previous World Cup hosted in South Africa have automatically qualified for the showpiece in Bangladesh. 

Additionally to these qualified teams, Bangladesh also qualified as tournament hosts, and Pakistan qualified by virtue of their position in the MRF Tyres ICC Women’s T20I Team Rankings.

Photos Caption: Zimbabwe and Uganda have emerged as the final two of the ten teams that have been vying for the two spots to play in the ICC Women’s 2024 T20 World Cup Global Qualifiers next year in Dubai. Photos: Supplied

Please Rate this Post

0 ratings, 0 votes0 ratings, 0 votes (0 rating, 0 votes, rated)
You need to be a registered member to rate this.

About the Author:

gsport Newsroom

gsport Newsroom

Launched in 2006, gsport exists to enhance the commercial prospects of our women athletes, and other women in sport, by telling the inspiring story of SA women in sport. Thank you for your contribution!

Recent Posts


Follow Us