ICC Awards Immediate ODI Status to 5 Associate Teams

by | May 28, 2022

The ICC has with immediate effect awarded One Day International status to five Associate women’s teams, with the Netherlands, Papua New Guinea, Scotland, Thailand and the USA all having their status upgraded as part of the revamping of the ICC Cricket World Cup pathway.

This is welcome news as all five teams will see their performances in ODI games count towards qualification for the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2025.

“Awarding ODI status to five additional teams will help us to accelerate the growth of the women’s game. More teams playing more regularly creates a more competitive environment as we saw at the recent ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup in New Zealand,” said ICC CEO Geoff Allardice.

“Good luck to the Netherlands, PNG, Scotland, Thailand, and the USA on what I hope will be a great opportunity to develop in 50-over cricket in their countries.” He concluded

The news comes on the same day as the ICC announced the new edition of the ICC Women’s Championship, which will feature two new teams in Bangladesh and Ireland, taking the total nations competing up to ten.

Each team will play eight three-match series in the Championship over the next three years, with the top five teams and the hosts qualifying for the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup, with the remaining teams going into the qualifying competition.

“The third edition of the Championship is going to be really exciting,” Australia captain Meg Lanning said.

“To have Bangladesh and Ireland involved, will not only be great for us to have the chance to play more cricket against them but also to expose them to more cricket against the top nations. We want to see the women’s game as strong as possible and developing the next tier of nations is a big part of that.”

England captain Heather Knight echoed the sentiments of her Australian counterpart, “The ICC Women’s Championship is vital for women’s cricket and the decision to increase it to 10 teams is the right one. Hopefully, in the future, we’ll see the ICC Women’s Championship continue to grow ” she said.

The #MomentumProteas will start their ICC Women’s Championship campaign for the new cycle against Ireland, in Dublin from 3 June to 17 June, 2022. They head into the contest ranked second in the world in ODI cricket. 


Photo 1 Caption: ICC has awarded ODI status with immediate effect to Associate women’s teams from Netherlands, Papua New Guinea, Scotland, Thailand and the USA, with performances counting towards qualification for the 2025 World Cup. Photo: The ICC

Share this article:

About the Author:

<a href="https://gsport.co.za/members/selina_munsamy/" target="_self">Selina Munsamy</a>

Selina Munsamy

I am a sports enthusiast. I am newly appointed KZN Women's Cricket Manager for the 2019/2020 season. My passion lies in cricket, technically I live and breathe cricket. I am a Scorer affiliated to KZN Cricket Scorer's Association. I also coach mini cricket for Tongaat Cricket Union. Live, Laugh and Love with Sport.

Recent Posts

Recent Comments


Related Posts