Momentum gsport Awards End Women’s Month Celebrating Excellence in Sport

There’s no better way to end off Women’s Month and Momentum’s #SheOwnsHerSuccess campaign than to celebrate the strides women have made in sport at the 2021 Momentum gsport Awards.

It has been a challenging year for the sporting industry with some of the live sporting events being cancelled due to the Covid pandemic. And while normal life is still a while away, it is important to acknowledge the successes and strides made by women in sport in spite of the unprecedented times.

gsport and Momentum is celebrating the 16th edition, and the third year for Momentum as the main sponsor of this awards ceremony which seeks to recognise South Africa’s leading women in sport and to support women in sport on their journey to success.

South Africans can tune in to watch the broadcast of what is the continent’s only national women’s sports awards on Tuesday 31 August at 20:00 on SuperSport Variety 4 – Channel 209 and SS Play on DStv.

gsport Founder Kass Naidoo says that the event will recognise over 20 individuals for their achievements over the past year. “We are excited to be hosting this year’s event, especially after such a difficult year. This prestigious event is fitting for the talented women we will be honouring, who continuously attain excellence and break barriers that keep them from achieving their full potential. We are grateful that our partnership with Momentum enables us to do this for women’s sport,” she said.

Head of Momentum Brand, Charlotte Nsubuga-Mukasa says: “We are committed to enable women’s success in sport. It’s an honour to be associated with the gsport awards which have been won by some of the world’s greatest athletes such as Rio Olympic gold medallist, Caster Semenya, World Surfski champion Hayley Nixon, and Banyana star, Thembi Kgatlana, among others.”

The finalists this year include footballer Rhoda Mulaudzi, multifaceted Paralympian Maria Combrink, upcoming tennis favourite Kaitlyn Ramduth, and FIFA-accredited football referee Akhona Makalima.

The Awards will close off Women’s Month, during which Momentum has been encouraging women to own their success and to overcome the barriers that hold them back from realising their potential. To keep up with the latest on the Momentum gsport Awards, follow the #gsport16 and #SheOwnsHerSuccess hashtags on social media.


The Finalists of the 2021 Momentum gsport Awards:

Momentum Athlete of the Year
Caitlyn Macnab (Golf)
Rhoda Mulaudzi (Football)
Shabnim Ismail (Cricket)

Brand South Africa Para Sport Star
Kgothatso Montjane (Tennis)
Maria Combrink (Athletics)
Noluthando Makalima (Surfing)

Emerging Athlete of the Year
Ainsli de Beer (Cycling)
Naveen Daries (Gymnastics)
Reabetswe Moloi (Athletics)

SuperSport School Sport Star of the Year
Kaitlyn Ramduth (Tennis)
Lilitha Ndungane (Tennis)
Miyanda Maseti (BMX)

Team of the Year
Banyana Banyana (Football)
SA Water Polo (Water Polo)
Spar Proteas (Cricket)

Coach of the Year
Delaine Mentoor (Water Polo)
Jenny van Dyk (Netball)
Ilse Pelser (Gymnastics)

Federation of the Year
Cycling SA
Gymnastics Federation

Sasol Global Woman in Sport
Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio (Cycling)
Kgothatso Montjane (Wheelchair Tennis)
Thembi Kgatlana (Football)

Imperial African Woman in Sport
Juliet Bawuah (Sports Journalism)
Ode Fulutudilu (Football)
Violet Jubane (Sports Development)

Nielsen Sports SA Sponsor of the Year

Telkom Woman of the Year
Anne Vermaak (Gymnastics SA)
Bongiwe Msomi (Netball Leadership)
Kesa Molotsane (ASA Athletes Commission)

SuperSport Woman in TV
Julia Stuart (Football)
Mbali Sigidi (Football)
Tumi Kgasoe (Sports Journalism)

Woman in PR and Sponsorship
Emy Casaletti-Bwalya (Football)
Lerato Malekutu (Cricket)
Sipokazi Sokanyile (Cricket)

Woman in Print
Mariette Adams (Rugby)
Vuyokazi Nkanjeni (Football)
Xolile Junia Mpisane (Football)

Woman in Radio
Cato Louw (Sports Journalism)
Nthabiseng Mamabolo (Sports Journalism)
Thulisile Miya (Football)

Woman in Social Media
Lali Stander (Golf)
Lesego Pooe (Cricket)
Nandi Buthelezi (Sports Journalism)

Style Star
Akhona Makalima (Football)
Mamello Makha (Football)
Kesa Molotsane (Athletics)

Supporter of the Year
Andries Kruger (Simoné Kruger’s father)
Nontu Mgabhi (Athletics Development)
Selina Munsamy (Social Media)

Volunteer of the Year
Mpho Makhoba (Tennis)
Sandile Lukhele (Cricket)
Molefe Talisemo (Cricket)

Special Recognition
Desiree Vardhan (SASCOC)
Dr. Koketjo Tsebe (Psychologist)
Susie Pather (Cricket Development)



For more information check out or follow the official social media pages:
Facebook: MomentumZA
Twitter: @Momentum_za
Instagram: momentumza



Please Rate this Post

0 ratings, 0 votes0 ratings, 0 votes (0 rating, 0 votes, rated)
You need to be a registered member to rate this.

About the Author:

gsport Newsroom

gsport Newsroom

Launched in 2006, gsport exists to enhance the commercial prospects of our women athletes, and other women in sport, by telling the inspiring story of SA women in sport. Thank you for your contribution!

Recent Posts


Follow Us